Jump to content


Photo

XBPartitioner Version 1.1


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 June 2008 - 06:06 PM

XBPartitioner Version 1.1
Posted by Iriez | June 29 13:06 EST | News Category: Xbox
 
A update to a xbox1 based application to manipulate partitions of xbox harddrives...
Whats New/Fixed:
-Update by Bomb Bloke (see end of document for my moment on the soapbox).
-Cluster size update correction.
-Automatically uses 64k clusters when formatting > 512GB partitions,
128k clusters when formatting > 1TB partitions, and so forth.
(New system does not allow for users to 'toggle' cluster size via Y button).
-Switched display of megabytes to equal 1,048,576 bytes (1024^2).
-Extended partitions are now displayed in gigabytes.


Official Site: n/a (by Bomb Bloke)
Download: n/a (built with XDK)
News-Source: Xbins.org Full Readme






#2 alexh

alexh

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Oxford UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 June 2008 - 07:03 PM

Brilliant, couldn't come at a better time. I am retiring my old 750Gig PATA drive from my main PC for two new 1TB SATA drives. It will be good to know I can use it safely.

Last year I lost a load of data on my 400Gig drive because it had the default cluster size... worked fine for ages and then bang... started loosing DIR's and files :-(

Edited by alexh, 29 June 2008 - 07:03 PM.


#3 Bandit5317

Bandit5317

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 881 posts

Posted 29 June 2008 - 07:31 PM

Awesome, larger than 1 TB partitions. That means the xbox will be ready to go when the new 2 TB drives come out laugh.gif That's enough to backup like 300 xbox games.

#4 Maturion

Maturion

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 June 2008 - 07:49 PM

What a surprise! A new release after all those years...

#5 capboy210

capboy210

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 827 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Xbox modification, computers, games, live, friends, girls, eating pasta.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 June 2008 - 08:05 PM

QUOTE(Bandit5317 @ Jun 29 2008, 02:07 PM) View Post

Awesome, larger than 1 TB partitions. That means the xbox will be ready to go when the new 2 TB drives come out laugh.gif That's enough to backup like 300 xbox games.


Easily more than that. Thats about what 1Tb will get you...

And 128k clusters!! I wonder if thats enough to affect the performance of the hard drive! Im not sure... Someone who tries this should fill us in.

But will this version work in conjunction with debug bioses found in xbins?

Edited by capboy210, 29 June 2008 - 08:16 PM.


#6 alexh

alexh

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Oxford UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 June 2008 - 08:27 PM

You should still try to use a 67 BIOS with both F and G partitions to reduce the amount per partition

Edited by alexh, 29 June 2008 - 08:27 PM.


#7 AmyGrrl

AmyGrrl

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Location:London, Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 June 2008 - 08:55 PM

nice.. I'm so happy this is out... I currently have a 500GB HD in my XBOX.... I may have to upgrade again...I just wonder if the person made an option to resize the screen a little... alot of the program gets cut off and its hard to make out what you are doing...

#8 alexh

alexh

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Oxford UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 June 2008 - 10:03 PM

QUOTE(AmyGrrl @ Jun 29 2008, 09:31 PM) View Post

I just wonder if the person made an option to resize the screen a little... alot of the program gets cut off and its hard to make out what you are doing...

RTFM?

QUOTE(Bomb Bloke)
One other problem people have reported re XBPartitioner is that the video display is sometimes stretched to something greater then that of their screen. In these cases you should check that your display settings in the MS Dash match that of your television set's capabilities.

Edited by alexh, 29 June 2008 - 10:22 PM.


#9 AmyGrrl

AmyGrrl

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Location:London, Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 June 2008 - 11:45 PM

Non of that helps. I'm using a standard 480i NTSC TV. The only video options I have in the MS Dash are Normal, Letterbox, Widescreen. I have it set to normal. The problem is not with my settings, its do to the overscan that all tv's do. Which is why many XBOX Programs allow you to resize the picture to better suit your tv, and every tv does overscan differently. If I was to set the screen size to fit my tv perfectly and then someone else used my settings I'm sure they would have problems with the image being cut off or end up with black boarders.

#10 AWD Bus

AWD Bus

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Alma
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2008 - 02:14 AM

QUOTE(alexh @ Jun 29 2008, 03:03 PM) View Post

You should still try to use a 67 BIOS with both F and G partitions to reduce the amount per partition


Actually you do not need to do that. I have done a ton of 500s and a few 750s with no trouble at all. All on G partition. There is NO REASON to even mess with the F partition.

The original program would do 1.2 tb anyways. I have used this program so many times, Huge thanks to the guy who wrote it!

#11 Milleman

Milleman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:40 PM

Sounds lovely!
So where do I find the new wonderful XBPartitioner Version 1.1 for download? love.gif

#12 Heet

Heet

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,965 posts
  • Location:Gainesville, FL
  • Interests:Pina coladas and getting caught in the rain. Disk space.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 30 June 2008 - 01:03 PM

Wow what an update. Thanks!


Can definately use this in the near future!

#13 alexh

alexh

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Oxford UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2008 - 01:12 PM

QUOTE(AWD Bus @ Jun 30 2008, 02:50 AM) View Post

Actually you do not need to do that [use a 67 BIOS]. I have done a ton of 500s and a few 750s with no trouble at all. All on G partition.

Erm, if you have a G partition... that means you ARE using a 67 BIOS dry.gif

Edited by alexh, 30 June 2008 - 01:17 PM.


#14 AWD Bus

AWD Bus

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Alma
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2008 - 01:13 PM

QUOTE(Milleman @ Jun 30 2008, 07:16 AM) View Post

Sounds lovely!
So where do I find the new wonderful XBPartitioner Version 1.1 for download? love.gif


Xbins. Just search for that and you will know more.

#15 quell

quell

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:01 PM

Are you guys using adapters or something? I thought 1Tb drives are only SATA?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users