Jump to content


Photo

Xbpartitioner 1.1


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2008 - 03:55 AM

Up on X-Bins.

QUOTE
Version 1.1

Cluster size update correction.
Automatically uses 64k clusters when formatting > 512GB partitions,
128k clusters when formatting > 1TB partitions, and so forth.
(New system does not allow for users to 'toggle' cluster size via Y button).
Switched display of megabytes to equal 1,048,576 bytes (1024^2).
Extended partitions are now displayed in gigabytes.


Long story short, you can now create partitions greater then 512gb if you want to. Original discussion here. Been tested to work with a small handful of drives now.

Also worth pointing out this thread about using SATA with X-Boxes, as to my understanding the largest IDE drive you'll find is 750gb.

#2 capboy210

capboy210

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 827 posts
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Xbox modification, computers, games, live, friends, girls, eating pasta.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:25 AM

So is this version compatable with debug any debug bios's found on xbins using a 750GB hdd? I found that no debug bios's are compatable using a 750GB hdd setup using the original xbpartitioner.

#3 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:56 AM

I'm honestly not sure. Never used a debug BIOS. unsure.gif

Do you mean can you run this while using a debug BIOS? Well, if it's not working that way, it can always be recompiled for use with a debugger, and then it should certainly load.

Do you mean will the BIOS be able to read the HDD after it's been formatted? I'd say no to that, unless the BIOS has been modified to support custom partitions and/or LBA48. I don't think MS released any BIOS with those capabilities.

#4 ldotsfan

ldotsfan

    X-S Messiah

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,100 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 June 2008 - 03:51 PM

Good work! This was in the making for a while biggrin.gif Finally the end product is out. Once again the theoritical limit for xbox hard drive size has been raised.

#5 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2008 - 05:03 PM

Only now, I don't know what that limit is supposed to be. huh.gif

It's gotta be something, I suppose. 2tb maybe? Apparently XBMC doesn't like 128kb clusters, so that might be it.

#6 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 30 June 2008 - 08:42 PM

QUOTE(Bomb Bloke @ Jun 30 2008, 12:39 PM) View Post

Only now, I don't know what that limit is supposed to be. huh.gif

It's gotta be something, I suppose. 2tb maybe? Apparently XBMC doesn't like 128kb clusters, so that might be it.


well the theoretical limit of LBA48 is 2 petabytes IIRC

the cluster limitation within XBMC might just be something that can be fixed in a patch or it could be the software manifestation of the hardware limitations. laugh.gif

either way 2TB is f-ing huge.

any way this could be used with some kind of RAID device? a RAID 0 array of two 1 TB drives would be crazy ridiculous.

#7 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,741 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:01 PM

QUOTE(Bomb Bloke @ Jun 30 2008, 08:39 AM) View Post

Only now, I don't know what that limit is supposed to be. huh.gif

It's gotta be something, I suppose. 2tb maybe? Apparently XBMC doesn't like 128kb clusters, so that might be it.

when we were testing i wasnt able to get evox, xbmc, or mxm to recognize 128k clusters

#8 run088

run088

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Interests:rebuilding broken xboxes
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 July 2008 - 06:36 AM

QUOTE(capboy210 @ Jun 30 2008, 12:01 AM) View Post

So is this version compatable with debug any debug bios's found on xbins using a 750GB hdd? I found that no debug bios's are compatable using a 750GB hdd setup using the original xbpartitioner.

What are the capabilities of the debug bios and the size of the hdd is it just 137 or is it possible to add g drive.Ive read some stuff that said yes and Ive read some that say no.
And what can you format the hdd with if not xbpartitioner?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users