Jump to content


Photo

Ftp\do I Have To Unlock My Hdd To Ftp?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 GamerG

GamerG

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, modding and having fun!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2008 - 07:14 PM

Hi,
I just got my xbox modded with Aladdin XT+2,and Evox 3935.
i have been having problems for ftping
my HDD is locked and when i ftp(i mapped the xbox as a network drive),
i window pops up and says "Windows cannot access the Folder",
does it mean i have to unlock my HDD?
and if i unlock my HDD, i will b able to boot EvoX as usual right?
Thnx
GamerG smile.gif

#2 1hotjob

1hotjob

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 July 2008 - 01:42 AM

Your drive doesn't have to be unlocked. Try this.

#3 GamerG

GamerG

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, modding and having fun!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:37 AM

Thnx man
but i have also tried this method.
I get he same error
windows is unable to read the contents of this drive.
pls help thnx
sad.gif

#4 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 July 2008 - 03:50 AM

How is the xbox connected to the PC?

Directly?
Router?
Hub/switch?


#5 GamerG

GamerG

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, modding and having fun!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 July 2008 - 04:04 AM

i tried both, direct and router.
problem remains
i boot up with router on and cable connected.
i get the ip on the skin.
i connect to router by pc(linsys )
i then type ftp:\\xbox:xbox@192.168.0.3\
and then i get the error message
thnx

#6 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 July 2008 - 04:28 AM

You probably haven't configured your xbox properly.

If you're using router, configure your xbox to use DHCP (or automatic) IP.
If you're connected directly to the PC, use a crossover cable and set the IP to STATIC


Also, try using an FTP program instead of IE.

#7 StrictPuppet

StrictPuppet

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 July 2008 - 08:10 AM

QUOTE(GamerG @ Jul 2 2008, 08:40 PM) View Post

i connect to router by pc(linsys )
i then type ftp:\\xbox:xbox@192.168.0.3\



QUOTE(Alex548 @ Jul 2 2008, 09:04 PM) View Post

If you're using router, configure your xbox to use DHCP (or automatic) IP.
Also, try using an FTP program instead of IE.


Do as Alex suggested. Linksys routers use the 192.168.1.xxx subnet, not 192.168.0.xxx

If you insist on a static IP change your 0 to a 1

Simply, different subnets will not connect to eachother (while that is not entirely true, for this purpose it is)

Additionally, evox is generally a poor ftp server.

#8 GamerG

GamerG

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, modding and having fun!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 July 2008 - 11:18 AM

hi
i have tried many methods and things aren't working out.
could u tell me all ur Evox and PC IP setings?
as it will work for u it will work for me
thnx smile.gif

#9 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 July 2008 - 10:12 PM

Open a command prompt on your pc and try to ping the xbox ip adress. (ping 192.168.0.3)

If you get a reply, your network settings are right.

Disable the firewall on your pc. It might block ftp transfers.

Make sure the ftp server is enabled in your xbox dashboard.

Try the flashfxp program as ftp client. You can download a trial version of it.

regards.

#10 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 July 2008 - 07:10 AM

http://www.chefelf.c.../networking.php

#11 GamerG

GamerG

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, modding and having fun!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 04 July 2008 - 10:28 AM

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Hi thnx a lot for the tip
DHCP works like a charm!
Thnx a LOT!
biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users