Jump to content


Photo

External Hard Drive Via Ethernet?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mnp2005

mnp2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 04:04 AM

Hi,

I was researching ways on how to attach a hard drive externally to my xbox, when I remembered that it had an Ethernet port that I would not be using. So, my idea is, could I buy an Ethernet swtich (like this: http://www.tigerdire....amp;CatId=2786 and then connect it to a hard drive (like this: http://www.jr.com/la...e/LAC_301156U/). Would XBMC be able to find the hard drive and recognize it if i simply ran an Ethernet cable from the xbox to the swtich and from the switch to the hard drive?

Any ideas, thoughts, and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Edited by mnp2005, 16 July 2008 - 04:08 AM.


#2 1hotjob

1hotjob

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 July 2008 - 04:10 AM

I have a Western Digital World Book drive that is a stand alone NAS. The Xbox sees it on the network just fine. I haven't tried connecting them together with a crossover cable, but they are connected through the router and a switch.

#3 mnp2005

mnp2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 04:21 AM

is there any way u could try connecting them directly and letting me know if it works? That would be a huge help to me, because if it does, then I will most likely buy something like this: http://www.newegg.co...82E16822136196R

Do i have to connect the xbox and the hard drive to my home network in order for this to work, or can i just connect them together using an ethernet cable? (or does this require a swtich)?

Edited by mnp2005, 16 July 2008 - 04:30 AM.


#4 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 16 July 2008 - 04:55 AM

either should work connected directly via crossover, as long as you can set a static IP (and i dont see why you wouldnt be able to)

#5 mnp2005

mnp2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 05:11 AM

so i can just run a crossover cable from the xbox to the hard drive WITHOUT putting either of them on my home network and access all of the files on the hard drive through XBMC?

Can anyone else confirm this before i start making purchases?

Thanks!

#6 mnp2005

mnp2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 06:25 AM

please?

#7 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 July 2008 - 09:29 AM

It is just as Vader says. If you can set a static IP on the box (and they'd be mad to disclude that option), it'll work whether a switch/router is present or not.

#8 1hotjob

1hotjob

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,761 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 July 2008 - 04:42 PM

I have some work to do this morning. When I get back I will try to connect the NAS to the Xbox with a crossover cable and post my results. As stated before though, it should work. If the device can be set with a static IP from a PC and the Xbox is set to a static IP with the same network settings, they should find each other.

#9 mnp2005

mnp2005

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 16 July 2008 - 09:42 PM

Thank you very much hotjob, please let me know how it goes. I really appreciate the help,

thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users