Jump to content


Photo

Xbox Games Freezing ?


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 July 2008 - 09:14 AM

hi
I have a problem with my 360 in that all games are now randomly freezing after just a few minutes
the picture just freezes and the only way out is to switch the console off and restart but then you get 3 flashing red lights a further switch off and restart and your up and running again only to get picture freeze up after a few minutes. DOESNT LOOK GOOD ???
let me say thinking the fault was the dvd rom I replaced the hitachi 59 and spoofed a benq yesterday (thanks to help from xbox scene member milamber )
so obviously the dvd rom is not now the issue.
any one got any ideas?
just a thought the spoof used firmware ixtreme 1.41 the benq latest version if its spoofed as a hitachi 59
that would have used 1.4 has this made a difference or is the fault elsewhere Ive changed the fans and cleaned any dust out ?

yours hopeful ??? sad.gif

#2 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 July 2008 - 02:16 PM

on research I think Ive got hardware failure rrod !!
have ordered a rrod repair kit by xecuter seems to get good reviews

would appreciate any other advice guys ? unsure.gif

Edited by logicwatch, 21 July 2008 - 02:19 PM.


#3 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 July 2008 - 05:47 PM

my advice would be to cancel the order and invest in a heatgun. then give it a good reflow and replace the x-clamp

#4 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 July 2008 - 05:49 PM

please unsure.gif

QUOTE(scuba156 @ Jul 21 2008, 06:23 PM) View Post

my advice would be to cancel the order and invest in a heatgun. then give it a good reflow and replace the x-clamp




whoa sounds far too dangerous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
and complicated sad.gif

too late already in the post are you saying its no good ?

Edited by logicwatch, 21 July 2008 - 05:51 PM.


#5 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 July 2008 - 05:53 PM

then i would suggest that you look here for someone local to repair it for you. a reflow is the best method to repair the RROD. any fix is only temp, but a reflow should allow it to work longer

#6 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 July 2008 - 08:36 PM

is it possible to get a new motherboard or is this not cost effective ?

#7 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 July 2008 - 08:39 AM

i guess not ?? sad.gif

#8 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2008 - 09:12 AM

As long as you can purchase the motherboard with the GUARANTEED DVD key for it (as well as knowing what drive was in there originally), then it may be worthwhile.

You'll then need to inject the new key into your DVD-ROM and may also need to spoof it as another drive.

#9 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 July 2008 - 02:57 PM

thanks martinchris23 any ideas where you can purchase with key as new ?

#10 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 July 2008 - 04:49 PM

Either Ebay (trusted sellers only!! - check feedback) or pick a console store online and see if they sell them under spares.

Out of curiosity, what's the secondary error code you get?

#11 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 July 2008 - 09:44 AM

QUOTE(Martinchris23 @ Jul 22 2008, 05:25 PM) View Post

Either Ebay (trusted sellers only!! - check feedback) or pick a console store online and see if they sell them under spares.

Out of curiosity, what's the secondary error code you get?



E68

Im going to try xclamp replacement fix applying new thermal paste it looks straight forward dont fancy heat gunning as yet !!
Im sure martinchris23 you can heat gun in your sleep LOL

#12 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 July 2008 - 01:59 PM

replaced x clamps cleaned gpu and cpu used artic 5 compound
also for good measure fitted and used xecuter rrod pads to 3 chips specified ??? not sure if required but hey why not ?
then ran the 20 mins overheat and left to cool . next added whisper max fans with TURBO !! WOW pretty powerful !! added 2 little heat fins supplied in box ?
put together and BINGO working fine no more freezing !!
biggrin.gif

thank you everyone and xbox scene tutorials !!

Edited by logicwatch, 25 July 2008 - 02:11 PM.


#13 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 25 July 2008 - 03:28 PM

QUOTE(logicwatch @ Jul 25 2008, 02:35 PM) View Post

replaced x clamps cleaned gpu and cpu used artic 5 compound
also for good measure fitted and used xecuter rrod pads to 3 chips specified ??? not sure if required but hey why not ?
then ran the 20 mins overheat and left to cool . next added whisper max fans with TURBO !! WOW pretty powerful !! added 2 little heat fins supplied in box ?
put together and BINGO working fine no more freezing !!
biggrin.gif

thank you everyone and xbox scene tutorials !!


There should have been four places for pads on the bottom of the board!

no matter, you'll probably be back here in a couple of months as the fix you've carried out may only have glazed over the problem.

Also, the error code you gave wasn't the secondary code - if this comes back to haunt you, you'll need the secondary code to know where the fault is - Google "xbox 360 error codes".

#14 logicwatch

logicwatch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • Location: uk
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 July 2008 - 04:33 PM

sorry there was 4 pads !!

thanks , your full of good news martinchris23

there was me thinking I had probably fixed it ?
so despite extra cooling x clamps artic 5 thermal paste new powerful fans extra heat fins sticky executer pads all 4 of them your saying its just temporary ???

sad.gif

#15 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 25 July 2008 - 07:17 PM

yes, every fix for it is just temporary apart from a expensive re-ball of the GPU and CPU




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users