• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kainlongshot

kainlongshot

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 August 2008 - 05:02 AM

I'd be the first to admit I'm a newb when it comes to modding consoles. I've played with PS2's, DS's and even some PSP's, but nothing like buying a 300-400 dollar console and modding it.

Look, I'm not looking to run burned games. If you don't believe me that's your prerogative. I'm more interested adding dual purpose for a console. (You might as well, you paid out the nose for it.) I'm interested in running a Linux environment for some average normal computing. From what research I have done, this is possible. I'm not looking to load a virtual machine and have it run XP, even if it is pretty cool. I'm not looking to run games on it like cedega as we know hardware acceleration is still in its infancy. (IMHO doesn't make a whole lot of sense to ask for gaming capability through Linux when you can run cutting edge console games as a . . . console)

With that out of the way, I've made my decision on getting an xbox 360 and I really want to get started with Linux. So here's what I know:

In order for you to run linux you have to have a firmware update 4532 or 4548.
You can have one lower and update up to 4532 or 4548 but nothing higher.
This is the biggest problem for me as I will be buying a new Xbox (2008) and will more than likely get a firmware higher than 4548.

I hear I have a couple of options.
Get a xbox (premodded) - no thanks
By a mod chip that will allow you to downgrade - such as Infectus

Once that is done, I can then use the Time Attack via King Kong to get Linux to load?

So here are my questions. Forgive me if they are already answered, I seriously did try to find them on my own.

1. Will the Infectus mod chip allow me to downgrade from any firmware? (if I buy a 2008 now, will it down grade my most current firmware)