Jump to content


Photo

2 Nics, On Chipmoded Xbox, One Frustrated Dewd.


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 08:27 PM

Far from newbie, but this seems like a newbie question, so...

Okay, this is what I got going on.... I used to have this working a while back, so I know it works, but have since formatted my PC, and put in a buncha mega-drives...

I have cable internet, connected to a Switch, and then to my PC. This is not an option. This is how my internet is setup, and this is how I want it, so I dont need 'Get a router' as an answer... lol

Two network cards in the pc, one to the switch, one to the xbox.

I can connect to the FTP on the XBOX via flashfxp.

I cant see the networked drive on the PC so that I can use the 4TB of space I have on the pc. I dont see the networked drive of the xbox on the pc. And I cant connect to the internet with the xbox.

Can ANYONE give me a glimmer of insight as to what I am missing?

I am not adverse to putting a router on the second nic, to act as a liason between the two, but I didn't need it before, so I dont think I need it now.


Xenium 24k gold chip, newest xbmc, old dashboard... nothing on the drives of the xbox...


blink.gif gonna loooose it.

#2 thr4773r

thr4773r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 August 2008 - 09:41 PM

If you are going to the xbox from your pc and bridging the connection, you need a crossover cable instead of the regular ethernet cables. Google "wire ethernet cable".
The old xbox can't automatically pick up what type of cable you have like the 360 can.

This is how I have mys son's xbox hooked up in his room. I have the cable into eth0 of ubuntu desktop pc, running brctl, eth1 with crossover to xbox1(now 360, so doesn't matter anymore.)

Good luck, hope it helps.

#3 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 09:46 PM

Crossover is already there... hense the part about being able to connect to it via FTP, and as I said, I used to have it working... nothing in the wiring is different than before, just a newly formatted PC.

Thanx for the help, all the same.





PS: This is a Windows XP machine. Forgot to mention that.

Edited by Zadi, 24 August 2008 - 09:50 PM.


#4 thr4773r

thr4773r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 August 2008 - 10:29 PM

Is everything receiving an address?

Sorry for any of that useless information, but just sounds like a small networking problem.
What are you even using the switch for? Is the cable modem providing dhcp with multiple addresses?

The xbox is connected to the pc, correct? It just sounds like your bridge is not set up correctly. If you reformatted, you may not have set it up again the same....

Without more info, its hard for me to say.

#5 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 10:38 PM

I have 4 other PCs in the house. I use a switch so that they can get actual IPs, instead of router through one IP.

The bridge might be the problem... I can connect to the internet with the PC, and I can connect to the xbox with the pc, but the XBOX doesn't see the internet... and doesn't appear on the network...

#6 thr4773r

thr4773r

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 183 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 August 2008 - 10:48 PM

ok...makes more sense, your cable gives you more than 1 ip...

Do you have a bridge set up? if not, just highlight both connections and right click. I believe you can set one up in windows much easier than linux...

#7 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 10:51 PM

I was using the 'Internet Sharing' thing....


maybe it doesn't do it properly

#8 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2008 - 11:02 PM

Network Bridge killed it all...

no interent on PC even.


That aint it. lol

#9 spiffyville

spiffyville

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Location:CornHusker State
  • Interests:Working on the physics behind wingless flight for humans. Slow going so far.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 August 2008 - 01:31 AM

You need to setup internet connection sharing on the pc. Do you have static address's set for the xbox and the pc?

#10 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 01:38 AM

QUOTE(spiffyville @ Aug 24 2008, 09:07 PM) View Post

You need to setup internet connection sharing on the pc. Do you have static address's set for the xbox and the pc?

Static on the XBOX, yes... Dynamic on the PC... but it never changes.

#11 spiffyville

spiffyville

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Location:CornHusker State
  • Interests:Working on the physics behind wingless flight for humans. Slow going so far.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 August 2008 - 02:33 AM

Have you taken the static out of the xbox and just let ICS give your xbox a DHCP address and see if it works that way?

#12 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 02:58 AM

yup

#13 spiffyville

spiffyville

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Location:CornHusker State
  • Interests:Working on the physics behind wingless flight for humans. Slow going so far.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 25 August 2008 - 04:21 AM

Did your xbox get a dhcp address?

Edited by spiffyville, 25 August 2008 - 04:21 AM.


#14 Zadi

Zadi

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 August 2008 - 04:27 AM

QUOTE(spiffyville @ Aug 24 2008, 11:57 PM) View Post

Did your xbox get a dhcp address?

Yea, it got the address fine. FTP connected to the dynamic one and everything. I got a feeling it is something in the sharing on the PC.. I just cant put my finger on what.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users