5 replies to this topic

#1 scrubca

scrubca

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 September 2008 - 11:58 PM

Hello all,

Sorry I'm new to the Xbox-scene, and a total newbie at this.

I bought a modded Xbox off of Craigslist, and when you turn on the Xbox, it immediately says that it is updating on Xbox live.

Then the Xbox times out and has an error message:

"Xbox Live is not responding. Please Try again later."

The seller did warn me of this (but I figured since I wanted it for XBMC, I wasn't that worried about xbox live - thought the machine was just banned from xbox live), of course I thought that this was a result of playing a game or something. Didn't know that it was on loggin and I wouldn't be able to do anything about it. (I feel like a knoob, not one of my better moments). But he did say it was repaireble.

I've looked all over your site for the answer and I didn't find much. Does anyone have any ideas on how to troubleshoot this?

I believe its a softmod, because the case was never cracked. Even if I need to get rid of the softmod, I don't mind that. I'll resoft mod it, or get a mod chip installed,

Any ideas??? (once I get that entry screen, I can't do anything... ) .

#2 Sychophantom

Sychophantom

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 83 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 September 2008 - 06:09 AM

My guess, and I'm still new myself for the most part, is that it was softmodded and then someone tried to update the dashboard through a game like Halo, and it wiped part of the softmod out.

Best bet is probably to drop a game in and see what happens. If the game works, you can likely remove the bad softmod and install a new one.

#3 scrubca

scrubca

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 September 2008 - 12:32 PM

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried in a few original games, and the same error message showed up.

Any other ideas?

#4 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

X-S Transcendental

• Head Moderators