7 replies to this topic

#1 toolwerx

toolwerx

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 08:36 AM

ok, i'm not a newbie, but i know its not technical. I've searched the forums, but the info i need is garbled and i want a straight answer. i work for a corporate IT consulting company and hack a background in original xbox, fta receivers, and dish reverse engineering.

I just bought an xbox (the price drop justified it) and i have a couple of quick questions im hoping someone can answer in a sentence or two......

I ended up with a 360 manufactured in 9-5-08 with a hitachi drive....i heard from a friend that this is the drive to have for a no modchip solution...correct? Or are there different revisions of it?

also, i have and old school ide computer. do i need sata on the motherboard? if yes, is a modchip my only solution.

Thank You for the read and hopefully the response

regards

-toolwerx

#2 toolwerx

toolwerx

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 08:59 AM

i realized that my grammar is a way off due to quite a few brewskies and a long day. I tried to edit to no avail. I hope this doesnt deter someone form responding.....

#3 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

X-S Messiah

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 September 2008 - 09:27 AM

All Hitachi's can now be flashed, but some are easier to flash than others.

A 360 manufactured in May 08 will most definitely have a v79 drive in there, meaning you'll need a SATA chipset, a copy of the modified Slax 2.1 distribution and the special v79 disc / instructions here.

If you've never flashed a drive before, don't make this the first one you do - kill the drive before retrieving the DVD key and you'll need a completely new 360.

#4 toolwerx

toolwerx

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 102 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 09:46 AM