5 replies to this topic

#1 pennitentiary

pennitentiary

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:20 PM

Good afternoon,

I just picked up my first Xbox 360 console yesterday. I am completely new to the Xbox 360 modding scene. I've been a Nintendo fan all of my life. But yesterday I broke my marriage with Nintendo and purchased my first non Nintendo console.

I was told by a mutual associate to purchase an Xbox 360 that was lot #0823 or under in hopes that I'd get a console with a Benq drive inside. I was lucky enough to find a lot #0822 console for sale. So I bought the 20GB pro version at Best Buy, took it home, and snapped the faceplate off in order to look at the colors of the two wires on the bottom hole on the right side of the optical drive. & they were "Yellow"! So I guess this confirms that I have a Lite-On optical drive.

Someone told me that consoles with Lite-On drives are not moddable. But someone else told me they are if you swap the Lite-On drive with a Benq drive.

So I'd like to know if one of you out there can share the process of doing this with me. I'd just like straight forward facts on what I need to buy and do. Any information about modding this console would be great... Such as what Benq model drive do I need? Or any downsides to swapping drives such as updates ruining the mod, no xbox live play, etc? Please share anything you can with me about this specific console mod. Url links or any info would be great.

Thanks

Edited by pennitentiary, 19 October 2008 - 09:21 PM.

#2 oxide32

oxide32

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:27 PM

hi m8, you can swap the liteon drive with pretty much any other drive, eg hitachi/lg or samsung or benq yes.
its just that the benq has more similarity than the hitachi/lg or samsung so may be harder for microsoft to detect on live thats why people say use a benq.