• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Burnah

Burnah

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 12:16 PM

Hey all, got my X-ecuter in the post this mornin, got all the tools I need except desolderin braid (its on backorder so should have some soon), and a flux pen which 'should' arrive tomoro.
Anyway, shall I wait for the flux before I install my chip or kill the eagerness and do it now . I done my psx and then my PS2 with a USB mod, and have also done a few little projects so Im not a newbie to the iron. But I've never used flux :S.

Last thing, whats the best way to use the stuff if its in pen form?

Thanks

#2 Troll123

Troll123

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 421 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 01:52 PM

You will have a greated success rate and a cleaner connection if you use flux. I STRONGLY recommend it.

#3 bpopp

bpopp

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 04:07 PM

I know how hard it is to wait.. but I would. I tried to do my OpenXBox mod without flux and I ended up burning off a pad. I ended up having to go get the flux anyway, and then I spent 8 grueling hours trying to build a bridge around the missing pad. I eventually fixed it, but I wouldn't have been able to do that without the flux.

It could definitely be done, but flux will make your job much easier/safer.

#4 kcobra

kcobra

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 04:12 PM

I suppose it all depends on how comfortable you are with soldering. I had no problem soldering my PC-Bioxx with normal 60/40 solder from rat shack. I didn't use any additional flux. Main thing is just pre-tin everything and use 30 AWG wire for pad 9.

#5 drom

drom

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 68 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 04:19 PM

just buy flux just incease you need it.

#6 Burnah

Burnah

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 27 September 2002 - 04:41 PM

Thanks for the replies.