Jump to content


Photo

Xdsl 0.7 Beta Released!


  • Please log in to reply
136 replies to this topic

#1 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 November 2008 - 07:31 PM

Xdsl 0.7 beta is based on Dsl 4.4.3

Downlaod from here:- Xdsl Main site

Please list any bugs you encounter, and I will fix them for the next release.


Screen shots below


IPB Image


IPB Image


IPB Image

Edited by stevewal, 24 November 2008 - 07:34 PM.


#2 pdidd

pdidd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 101 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 02:26 AM

seriously that looks absolutely awesome!!!!

#3 cheddabob1

cheddabob1

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Charleston SC
  • Interests:love shootin people in the face (halo)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:54 AM

does you xbox have to be chipped or will it work with any firmware mods?

#4 Neptune

Neptune

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:00 AM

edit...

http://fs03n4.sendsp...0.7beta0.01.iso

lol my bad!

Edited by Neptune, 01 December 2008 - 08:01 AM.


#5 SupaDawg

SupaDawg

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 484 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:20 AM

QUOTE(cheddabob1 @ Dec 1 2008, 06:30 AM) View Post

does you xbox have to be chipped or will it work with any firmware mods?


If your xbox is modded to run unsigned code than it will run this. Savegame exploits, modchips... just give it a try.

Last time i used DSL on my xbox was a year and some ago. ran great. Can only imagine it's come even further. Props to the devs for keeping on it.

#6 bassquake

bassquake

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 03:07 PM

Can this be installed alongside a loopback installation of 0.6 one?

#7 alexh

alexh

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Oxford UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 December 2008 - 03:48 PM

Nice work. My thanks to whoever put the hard work in to bring us this release.

I'll have to have a try if for nothing else than using FireFox instead of LinksBoks

#8 GOVATENT

GOVATENT

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 81 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 04:00 PM

Sweet! I want to solder some new ram into my console. I use my 360 for live now and my old console for old offline games/xbmc.

#9 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 04:19 PM

Hi,
Yea this ones my work smile.gif

You can install xdsl 0.7 loopback along side xdsl 0.6 loopback, by renaming E:/xdslfs to eg. xdslfs0.6, and then editing E:/linuxboot.cfg from
CODE
rootfs_name=xdslfs
to
CODE
rootfs_name=xdslfs0.6
. Then install xdsl 0.7 beta as normal.
Yes it's as simple as that.

You can have as many loopback installs as you like as long as you have space on your disc.

Edited by stevewal, 01 December 2008 - 04:20 PM.


#10 DMAddict

DMAddict

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Tetraspace
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:00 PM

Lookin' forward to giving this a try. Am I missing something, your wiki page only looks like it has v 0.6 and the XDSL folder on xbins is empty. I'll go ahead and use the link from Neptune.

#11 brandogg

brandogg

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,091 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 05:55 PM

Are we able to use HDTV resolutions yet...1080p? I've always had problems getting Xdsl to fit my screen properly, though it is a great distro I must say.

#12 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 08:07 PM

hi,
Xdsl0.7beta is on the wiki main page.
As far as I am aware the xbox can't output 1080p.
xdsl outputs 640x480 by default, but can use 420p 800x600 and 720p. This all depends on your tv/monitor. some might work and some might not.

As of xdsl0.6 xorg or Xfree86 can be used and configured for better compatibility. You will need to edit their config files with the correct modelines for your tv.

#13 brandogg

brandogg

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,091 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 02 December 2008 - 03:41 AM

I'm an idiot, I meant 1080i (though my TV is 1080p). Thanks for the tips, I'm going to try that.

#14 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:03 AM

your download is out of bandwidth on the site .. maybe you should make some mirrors using rapidshare , megaupload , uploaded.to etc ..

can't wait to try this! :]

edit: thanx Neptune for the sendspace link.

Edited by c-2, 02 December 2008 - 06:38 AM.


#15 Maturion

Maturion

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:Munich, Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:47 PM

That's so awesome! Thank you a lot for your continous work on X-DSL! Thank you!!!!

Edited by Maturion, 02 December 2008 - 05:48 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users