Jump to content


Photo

Notes For Upgrading From A 20gig To A 120gig Drive


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#1 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 01 December 2008 - 12:12 AM

I upgraded my harddrive this weekend, and hit a few stumbling blocks along the way. i just wanted to share my experiences with all of you, so that the information would be centralized and will hopefully help others in the future.


Guide

for starters, here is an EXCELLENT guide that lays out the basics
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=660096

Making the bootable thumbdrive

the guide talks about using a floppy, and as many computers don't have those anymore, i figure i'll mention that i personally used my thumbdrive that iprep configured for me, and just put the hddhackr tool on that. i then said no at the "do you agree to the terms" screen to get dropped to dos.

if that doesn't work for you, try this link that loggan26 found.
http://csd.dficlub.o...read.php?t=1136

Why isn't hddhackr finding my harddrive?

when i went to use hddhackr, i quickly found that the program picked up my ide harddrives (2 western digitals and a seagate), but it didn't pick up my 360 drive. upon reading the read me that came with the tool, i found the following

QUOTE

Ifthe hddhackr does not autodetect your SATA controller (if you have an nForce
chipset for example), then you can manually edit the hddhackr to support it.
To do this:

1. Find the two ports that your SATA chipset uses for data communication (see the
MTKediting thread ( http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=514126 ) for
more detailed info on how to do this), basically, you need to run 'msinfo32',
then go to storage/scsi or storage/ide, depending on your SATA chipset and then
look for the two adress lines that have a difference of 7 between them.
For example:

I/O-port 0x0000EFE0-0x0000EFE7
I/O-port 0x0000EFAC-0x0000EFAF
I/O-port 0x0000EFA0-0x0000EFA7
I/O-port 0x0000EFA8-0x0000EFAB
I/O-port 0x0000EF90-0x0000EF9F
I/O-port 0x0000E800-0x0000E8FF

In this example the two port numbers you are looking for (with difference of 7) are
0xEFE0 and 0xEFA0.
2. Open the hddhackr.com in a hexeditor and search for the string 'port=MPRT'
(it is at the end of the file). Now, that 'MPRT' string is 4 bytes long:
0x4D 0x50 0x52 0x54. You have to replace these four bytes with the 2 port numbers
(which are each 2 bytes long, so you replace the 4 bytes in total), so in the
example above you replace these four bytes with: '0xEF 0xE0 0xEF 0xA0'.
3. If you then start the hddhackr, it will automatically detect that you have edited
that string, so it will skip the SATA autodetector and instead use the port numbers
you've supplied.


this is very useful information, and it solved my problem. the I/O port info that you are seeing in that description can be obtained by choosing start -> run, and typing in msinfo32.exe . when you find your sata card, the lines you are typically looking for will be the first and 3rd i/o port line. (the important thing is the difference of 7 that the specialist mentions). once i overwrote the MPRT section in a hex editor, my harddrive was detected and flashed perfectly.

small tip for after the flash

i noticed that after formatting the drive in the 360, if i popped it right in my computer, xplorer only showed partition 1, instead of 0,2 and 3. when i formatted the drive in my 360, then made a new offline profile, the problem was alleviated.

moral of the story: make an offline profile after your format

complications with games

this is the part that kind of sucks, because it shouldn't be necessary. some developers put special protection on their gamesaves to make it difficult to copy. some games have potential workarounds to get the data onto your new harddrive. i'm going to start a list of games that lock the saves, and in cases where a workaround has been found, i'll put it

locked games, no solution
Dead or Alive 4
Dead or Alive Xtreme Beach Volleyball 2
Viva Pinata
Perfect Dark Zero
The Last Remnant


locked games, solution found

Fable 2
same fix as rockband 1

Rockband
if you copy the data from one harddrive to another, the data won't load. it complains of an unknown error. fortunately, from the dashboard, you have the option to move the rockband save data to a memory card. you MUST choose move, and not copy, otherwise it will give you an error and refuse to transfer.

Rockband 2
same fix as rockband 1

My movie won't play


Solution:

QUOTE(Arimanio @ Jan 1 2009, 12:55 PM) View Post

I did run into the issue where a downloaded movie wouldn't play because it said something about doesn't recognize that format. I deleted the Rights Database in System Items under Memory in the System Settings blade and immediately played right away.



If anyone has anything they would like to add to this thread, just let me know and i'll incorporate it in.

Edited by Reaper527, 23 March 2009 - 06:53 PM.


#2 v_lestat

v_lestat

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 03:07 AM

Reaper how did you transfer your saves etc etc from your 20gb backup image or individually saves partitions to the 120gb.
when i do this everything goes ok but when putting the 120gb back into the 360 the xbox only see's , well various free space. 14gb free,, 30gb free, 11gb free, 7gb free.
its all over the place.

the only step i did not do is hexedit the hard drive.
i have not done this because i do not recall doing this on the last 2 drives i had done, but maybe i did.

do you HAVE to hexedit the drive in order to make it work properly ?

thanks in advance !

#3 skyliner99

skyliner99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 125 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:39 AM

yeah kinda the same as above,

is there any necessary hex editing needed to transfer saved data for offical 20gig to homemade 120gig.
If so i realllly wanna keep it minimal, i mess stuff up a lot in hex

anyways thanks man

#4 dapadoop

dapadoop

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 December 2008 - 06:26 PM

Same problem here. The saves won't be recognized, so i have to start all over again!

#5 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:35 PM

i did NOT hex edit the drive. the only thing i had to hex edit was hddhackr (to make it recognize my sata controller.

i used xplorer (xtreme version) and then navigated to partition 3 on my old harddrive. i think right clicked the content folder, and told it to extract.

after this, i put the content folder on partition 3 on the new harddrive. everything worked fine.

#6 mitchd2100

mitchd2100

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Glasgow
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 December 2008 - 10:50 PM

Name NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
Manufacturer NVIDIA Corporation
Status OK
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_03F6&SUBSYS_B0021458&REV_A2\3&2411E6FE&0&40
I/O Port 0x000009F0-0x000009F7
I/O Port 0x00000BF0-0x00000BF3
I/O Port 0x00000970-0x00000977
I/O Port 0x00000B70-0x00000B73
I/O Port 0x0000CC00-0x0000CC0F
Memory Address 0xEC105000-0xEC105FFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 22
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvstor32.sys (5.10.2600.931, 91.50 KB (93,696 bytes), 23/11/2008 15:40)

Does this mean I put 09 F0 09 70 in the hex editor as the last bytes?

#7 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 07 December 2008 - 03:54 AM

QUOTE(mitchd2100 @ Dec 6 2008, 05:26 PM) View Post

Name NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller
Manufacturer NVIDIA Corporation
Status OK
PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_03F6&SUBSYS_B0021458&REV_A2\3&2411E6FE&0&40
I/O Port 0x000009F0-0x000009F7
I/O Port 0x00000BF0-0x00000BF3
I/O Port 0x00000970-0x00000977
I/O Port 0x00000B70-0x00000B73
I/O Port 0x0000CC00-0x0000CC0F
Memory Address 0xEC105000-0xEC105FFF
IRQ Channel IRQ 22
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvstor32.sys (5.10.2600.931, 91.50 KB (93,696 bytes), 23/11/2008 15:40)

Does this mean I put 09 F0 09 70 in the hex editor as the last bytes?

yup. if you can't get it to work, let me know and i'll hex it for you. on your hex editor, you should see MPRT turn into some weird characters

Edited by Reaper527, 07 December 2008 - 03:57 AM.


#8 skyliner99

skyliner99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 125 posts

Posted 07 December 2008 - 06:16 AM

finally, a really helpful thread.
I just ordered my HDD. Now, i was wondering if I can use my MOBO's built it sata ports to flash.

all i know is i have an intel 945G chipset, if that matters.
anyways thanks again

#9 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 07 December 2008 - 08:16 AM

QUOTE(skyliner99 @ Dec 7 2008, 12:52 AM) View Post

finally, a really helpful thread.
I just ordered my HDD. Now, i was wondering if I can use my MOBO's built it sata ports to flash.

all i know is i have an intel 945G chipset, if that matters.
anyways thanks again


as far as i know, any sata chipset should be fine. if you have any trouble, hex editing the program should resolve it. i flashed mine with a via chipset (onboard chipset for my mobo), and it worked great.

i haven't read ANY posts to date where the problem was the persons chipset.

Edited by Reaper527, 07 December 2008 - 08:18 AM.


#10 mitchd2100

mitchd2100

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Glasgow
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 December 2008 - 03:59 PM

I think I have it right now, but just a quick question reaper, is it better to unplug all drives before doing the flash or is it possible to keep my drives connected? I have quite a few drives lol...

oh and thanx for the great tut...


Edited by mitchd2100, 07 December 2008 - 04:05 PM.


#11 calloused labia

calloused labia

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:08 PM

QUOTE(skyliner99 @ Dec 7 2008, 12:52 AM) View Post
finally, a really helpful thread.
I just ordered my HDD. Now, i was wondering if I can use my MOBO's built it sata ports to flash.

all i know is i have an intel 945G chipset, if that matters.
anyways thanks again


My flashing only computer has that chipset (and a via card). The on-board SATA (ICH7) worked fine..

The VIA card could auto dump sectors 16-22 from the 20 gigs with hddhackr. The VIA could dump 16 - 22 from the 120s using a hex editor but the VIA could NOT write the hddss.bins back properly.




#12 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:19 PM

QUOTE(mitchd2100 @ Dec 7 2008, 10:35 AM) View Post

I think I have it right now, but just a quick question reaper, is it better to unplug all drives before doing the flash or is it possible to keep my drives connected? I have quite a few drives lol...

oh and thanx for the great tut...


if you are using a stock copy of hddhackr, it will ask you which drive to flash, so you should be fine leaving everything hooked up. from what i remember, a hexed copy doesn't ask you which drive, so in this case, i'd say take the extra effort to disconnect all your other sata drives. (this should be simple. you can just pull all the power cables)

#13 mitchd2100

mitchd2100

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Glasgow
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 December 2008 - 02:14 AM

Yeah, I just unplugged all my drives just to be extra sure lol. Didnt want to take any chances with my other drives. The firmware installed no probs and im just waiting for my 20gig to get delivered, to get the enclosure, and im good to go. I didnt want to fry my board with my soldering skills.

Thanx again Reaper for all the help. biggrin.gif

#14 mitchd2100

mitchd2100

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Location:Glasgow
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 December 2008 - 12:44 PM

Just a quick update.......... Got my 20gig today(yay), anyway.... Flashed the WD drive about 2 weeks ago, no problems there (with the help of this tut)......... Opened the enclosure, no problems there (well, nearly lost a spring laugh.gif )........... Swapped out the drives, no problems there.......... Fomatted the drive on XBOX, no problems there (107GB Free)........... Installed a game, no problems there (fixed popup on GTA IV)...........

I would like to thank everyone for thier help and guidance, I followed all the info to the letter and it all went smooth for me.

#15 noluv

noluv

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 03:20 AM

thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users