Jump to content


Photo

Notes For Upgrading From A 20gig To A 120gig Drive


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#16 Arimanio

Arimanio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 06:19 PM

So often people will leach information from forums and not give proper thanks for the successes, moreover whining about their own failures. I just wanted to say thanks for the tutorial and info. It worked flawlessly, even on the new dashboard "experience."

I did run into the issue where a downloaded movie wouldn't play because it said something about doesn't recognize that format. I deleted the Rights Database in System Items under Memory in the System Settings blade and immediately played right away.

Also there were was a corrupt Arcade download (which I just re-d/led) and a an incomplete Game Add-On which downloaded just fine also.

Thanks again....good game,
Arimanio

#17 preludexl

preludexl

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts

Posted 08 January 2009 - 07:26 AM

I'm still confused after reading this tut and the other linked one. You dont need a 20gig drive to format a 120 gig right, except to get the plastic enclosure to mount your new 120 gig????

If all you need is the HDDSS.bin file, some guy said that he just got a copy of one from the usual places, and used that instead of getting it from an actual 20 gig he owned.

I am thinking of getting the arcade xbox and just buying a 120 gig and attempt to flash it....and then may be buy a plastic enclosure from ebay.

Would that work?

Also, does XBOX see the 120 gig as 1 big partition or several??? uhh.gif uhh.gif uhh.gif uhh.gif

#18 xxzone

xxzone

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 January 2009 - 06:18 PM

Thanks for the HEX editing info. Never done any of that up till now, but it worked like a charm. Detected my drive right away after I edited the .exe. Flashed the 120 drive with no problems.

I just hesitate because of the RockBand 1/2 save issues, and I also have some Fable 2 saves I hear can have issues after. I'm really hoping I can find someone with a data transfer kit, so I can bypass all the trouble. Actually, now that I think of it I only have one enclosure, so I don't think the transfer cable will work.

If anyone has any info about a fail safe way to transfer all of your info from you 20 gig HD to the new 120 (and hopefully how to not have your 20 gig be unreadable after) I would greatly appreciate it! Not sure if its the hddhackr.exe that is making the 20 gig drives unreadable, or if it's the Xplorer360 program. Hopefully it's the hddhackr. People have been hooking up their old 20 gig drive to do a backup of it as a fix for all the partitions not showing up after a format of the new 120 gig drive. From the OP here it seems creating an offline profile on the new drive resolves that issue without messing around with the old 20 gig backup via hddhackr.

Anyway thanks a ton for the posts! All this info helps a ton. I'll have to go read a bit more before I crack open my 20 gig drive and try to transfer everything over. I have no problem trying this if my old 20 gig drive is still usable after.

BTW...The OP says to fix your RB 1/2 saves just act like you are copying them over to an SD card, but don't actually copy them over. Is that accurate? I've been trying to understand it, but it's kind of vague to me.

Thanks!

Edited by xxzone, 08 January 2009 - 06:21 PM.


#19 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 January 2009 - 09:17 PM

QUOTE(preludexl @ Jan 8 2009, 02:02 AM) View Post

I am thinking of getting the arcade xbox and just buying a 120 gig and attempt to flash it....and then may be buy a plastic enclosure from ebay.

Would that work?

Also, does XBOX see the 120 gig as 1 big partition or several??? uhh.gif uhh.gif uhh.gif uhh.gif


that will work fine. the xbox won't show you the partition breakdown, but there will really be 3 partitions there (and you will see 3 partitions from your computer).

the way your describing what you want to do will work fine. just make sure you get an enclosure. (i guess circuit city is having a really good deal on 20 gig harddrives right now, you might want to check that out).



QUOTE(xxzone @ Jan 8 2009, 12:54 PM) View Post


BTW...The OP says to fix your RB 1/2 saves just act like you are copying them over to an SD card, but don't actually copy them over. Is that accurate? I've been trying to understand it, but it's kind of vague to me.

Thanks!


you have to put an official xbox memory card into your system, and then use the move option to move rockband 1/2 saves to the memory card. you MUST use move, and NOT copy. (you'll know the difference when you try, because move will work, and copy will say "this save can't be copied"). once your 120 gig drive is good to go, you can move the save from the memory card to the new drive.


#20 xxzone

xxzone

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 January 2009 - 06:02 PM

Well I finally did this. Luckily I copy and pasted one of the tutorial posts and mailed it to myself, cause the stupid forum was down the whole time I was trying to do it (which was about 3 hours).
Everything went fine till It was time to copy over partition 3. Stupid NCAA game files kept looping. You'd save yourselves a lot of headaches if you just copy over a folder at a time. i just copied each folder until I got to my game saves, then I copied each sub folder. When I got to the NCAA folder I copied each file and then it worked fine. That took 2 hours to figure out though.

The next problem was not seeing all the partitions on the new 120 gig hard drive. I created an offline profile like the OP stated, but that that didn't work. I had to hex edit line 80000, restore partition 2 (luckily I had backed it up from the original HD), and then all the drives appeared. I did have some garbage listed in partition 1, but I just left it. I was just happy to be done. I had restored the partition 2 manually the first time and jacked up the drive. Had to initialize it in windows and start over.

After that everything copied over fine. I found a 64 gig memory card at play n trade for 20$ on the way home from work. Steep, but it barely held all my files, and Rock Band 1/2 worked fine after the restore. Now I have 99 gigs free and I'm very happy. I appreciate all the help from those who had done it before me. The hex edit was very easy. Just one line to edit, and then restore partition 2. After that all of the partitions appeared.

So total for the drive was 90$ after the MU and the torx set I purchased for 10$. Stupid set still didn't have a true 6T head in it, but one of the 8T worked enough to get them out.

#21 ZaubererGrey

ZaubererGrey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 12:32 AM

I've known about the WD hack for sometime, but just never got round to buying the drive to do it. I requested a 7200rpm drive for my notebook and when I swapped the drive out I noticed that my old drive was/is actually a Fujitsu MHW2120BH. That's the exact model number that MS uses in the elites. Imagine my dismay when I found out that because of the firmware difference on the drive, I can't actually use it in my xbox. Anybody found a way around that yet? uhh.gif

#22 noluv

noluv

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 January 2009 - 05:46 PM

hi,
can we have a list of hds that work on the 360 please or even a link "if there is any where with the infomation".
thanks

#23 zuma351

zuma351

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 05:34 AM

anyone know if I use a USB to SATA kit with power and data cables, will it be able to copy stuff from my old 20gb hard drive to the new 120gb hard drive? Will xplorer360 see my hard drive with this kit?

Also, Reaper did you get stuff off a 20gb to the 120gb if some how did you do it, did you just go by the guide you talked about in the first post?

#24 ZaubererGrey

ZaubererGrey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 09:54 AM

xplorer360 will see the drives if they are formatted by the xbox and you're using the version of xplorer360 moded by The_specialist

#25 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:22 AM

QUOTE(zuma351 @ Jan 17 2009, 12:10 AM) View Post

anyone know if I use a USB to SATA kit with power and data cables, will it be able to copy stuff from my old 20gb hard drive to the new 120gb hard drive? Will xplorer360 see my hard drive with this kit?

Also, Reaper did you get stuff off a 20gb to the 120gb if some how did you do it, did you just go by the guide you talked about in the first post?



i worked from a 20 gig drive, and pulled it out of its casing and hooked it directly up to my pc. (no adapters). i then put a 120gig drive in my 20 gigs casing.

a usb/sata kit SHOULD work fine, but i didn't personally use one.

#26 zuma351

zuma351

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 06:30 PM

Ok cool thanks for the help, right now im waiting for the 120gb to be shipped to me and than im ready to do it, i hope every thing works out and thanks again for the help

#27 zuma351

zuma351

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 54 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 09:55 PM

One more thing I have been reading things about this hack on the internet and have found a few story of people having problems getting there 360 to read the 20 gb hard drive after this hack, anyone know if this can be fixed or how to stop this from happening? Sorry for asking so many questions it just that I like to know a few things before I start changing things around.

#28 Wuthoqquan

Wuthoqquan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:37 PM

Is it okay if I buy exactly a 120GB Western Digital drive (WD1200BEVS - Scorpio)?
Somewhere else I read the suggestion to use a 160GB... but it really sound no sense to me!
Could you please confirm? Thanks

#29 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 19 January 2009 - 12:43 AM

QUOTE(zuma351 @ Jan 17 2009, 04:31 PM) View Post

One more thing I have been reading things about this hack on the internet and have found a few story of people having problems getting there 360 to read the 20 gb hard drive after this hack, anyone know if this can be fixed or how to stop this from happening? Sorry for asking so many questions it just that I like to know a few things before I start changing things around.


all i can say is that my 20 gig drive still works fine in my 360 after i did the hack. i used the xtreme version of xplorer and didn't make any modifications to the drive and only read from it.


QUOTE(Wuthoqquan @ Jan 18 2009, 07:13 AM) View Post

Is it okay if I buy exactly a 120GB Western Digital drive (WD1200BEVS - Scorpio)?
Somewhere else I read the suggestion to use a 160GB... but it really sound no sense to me!
Could you please confirm? Thanks


yes, but sometimes you can get the 160gig drive cheaper than the 120gig drive (as weird as that sounds).

#30 k2xtrEm

k2xtrEm

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:08 PM

I have searched but am unsure exactly what a "bare drive" is. Would I be able to use a bare drive for this purpose?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users