3 replies to this topic

#1 Tranceformator

Tranceformator

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 01:10 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this great forum which I have to say solved quite a lot of trouble I had with emulation on X-Box...

My request is the following : Does there a program which turns Europeans N64 roms (that are 50 Hz) into 60 Hz (US and JP format)...that way I'd be able to play it in the best possible quality and in my first language (French). I know this is perfectly possible on the PSX (I've done that with most of my games and it has worked flawlessly so far)...

I've tried searching on google but I'm out of luck...

Thanks for help guys! laugh.gif

#2 ganjatron

ganjatron

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 02:31 AM

Um, the tv/n64 is PAL or NTSC, not the rom. The only difference IS the language. Surreal has no region locks like the actual hardware version so you can play roms from any region.

Also, many people feel that PAL is actually the superior format due to the higher resolution, but whatever...

#3 VampX

VampX

X-S Legend

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 12 December 2008 - 03:55 AM

QUOTE(ganjatron @ Dec 12 2008, 04:07 AM) View Post

Surreal has no region locks like the actual hardware version so you can play roms from any region.

Yes, but how does Surreal emulate Pal roms? does it emulate them at the correct 50hz or does it run them at 60?
(yes thats a question, i haven't bothered with Surreal in years)

For example the Nintendo Wii emulates roms at pal speed in Europe, sure my tv is a super nuclear powered mega beast
that can run in a resolution that most scientists at Nasa would be gawk at, but still Nintendo makes us play our (paid for) romz at a slooow 50hz.