Jump to content


Photo

Different hash: 256 vs 512


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 19 June 2003 - 06:28 PM

ROM = "Xecuter2 4977 256k",0x92987e26edd5833921c9b0e539ea091e

If I use a 512K for my X2.1 Lite mod do I just change it to 256 in the name and keep the same key?

#2 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 19 June 2003 - 07:16 PM

It's not a key, it's a hash...it identifies the BIOS, it doesn't unlock it. And no, the 512K image would have a different hash.

#3 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 20 June 2003 - 04:15 PM

OK. So what hash do I use for a 512k image then?

#4 Xeero

Xeero

    Welcome Back!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,413 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 June 2003 - 04:21 PM

QUOTE (bucko @ Jun 20 2003, 01:15 PM)
OK. So what hash do I use for a 512k image then?

Use X2BM, make the 512K image, and calculate the hash yourself.

You should know that you don't NEED a hash to use a BIOS...only to identify it.

#5 BenJeremy

BenJeremy

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 June 2003 - 04:28 PM

Why would the hash be different?

I calculate the hash in Media X Menu to identify the BIOS, and I use the entire 1024k space. I assume the hash is the same when the calculated on two identical blocks of 256k, or 512k, as a single block.

In memory, the BIOS is seen as a repeating blobk of memory, i.e. if it's a 256k BIOS, you see 4 copies of it in the 1mb region... likewise, a debug BIOS would repeat itself twice, being a 512k BIOS.

But an X2 BIOS is ALWAYS a 256k BIOS - when packaged as a 512k file, it's either two different BIOSes or the same BIOS doubled. Likewise, a 1MB BIOS file may have one BIOS 4 times, or 4 different BIOSes... it depends on where/how the file originated.

Unfortunately, that doesn't make it any less confusing for users. blink.gif

#6 vidgms4me

vidgms4me

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,331 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 June 2003 - 07:27 PM

QUOTE (BenJeremy @ Jun 20 2003, 02:28 PM)
Why would the hash be different?

I calculate the hash in Media X Menu to identify the BIOS, and I use the entire 1024k space. I assume the hash is the same when the calculated on two identical blocks of 256k, or 512k, as a single block.

In memory, the BIOS is seen as a repeating blobk of memory, i.e. if it's a 256k BIOS, you see 4 copies of it in the 1mb region... likewise, a debug BIOS would repeat itself twice, being a 512k BIOS.

But an X2 BIOS is ALWAYS a 256k BIOS - when packaged as a 512k file, it's either two different BIOSes or the same BIOS doubled. Likewise, a 1MB BIOS file may have one BIOS 4 times, or 4 different BIOSes... it depends on where/how the file originated.

Unfortunately, that doesn't make it any less confusing for users. blink.gif

I use a 1024k bios and the 256k bios hash works fine.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users