Jump to content


Photo

Xbox 360 With No Key On Dvd Drive


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 SergioFoX

SergioFoX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 11:50 PM

It's been a log time since I have posted and xbox-scene has always been the best for advice and tutorials.

I recently bought 2 muhaha.gif rrod xbox's since mine has been having issues and wanted to have a backup.
I got one of the boxes to work with the heatgun and x-clamp fix.
Booting up with no hdd and its has the new dashboard already installed.
When I insert 360 game, demo or regular xbox game the box give me the white screen error about inserting a 360 disc..
The drive is a samsung ms28 and have tried the pot fix was reading at 3.27 and I clocked it up to 3.42 and 3.67 with no luck.
Before I did this the box would play and still only plays burnt movies or retail movies fine.

I's assuming the key on the dvd is not there or this was a replacement drive.
Am ordering a Via card so I can try reading the firmware off the drive.

But say it's bad is there anything I can do with this motherboard without a working drive or key??
Or should I try replacing something on the drive itself, the other box has a samsung ms25... uhh.gif




#2 Ultra_Extreme

Ultra_Extreme

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 13 January 2009 - 11:59 PM

Without the key the box is dead for the purposes of playing games but it will still work great as a DVD player and upscaler aswell as a media center extender. I use 3 keyless xbox's as MCE's around the house!

#3 SergioFoX

SergioFoX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 12:38 AM

Thank you for your quick reply, going to try to tweak the pot to 3.0 and see if that get's me anywhere.

#4 PaddyPat

PaddyPat

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 01:09 AM

umm, no....the error message "Please place this disc in an Xbox 360 console" means that the DVD drive has the improper key and will not play games unless it gets the correct key. Unless you can somehow get the key from whoever you bought it from, the console is no good for games. However, the reason that person probably sold it was that he/she probably screwed up flashing it.

#5 Nexi

Nexi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Eastern PA | NYC
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 01:50 AM

QUOTE(PaddyPat @ Jan 13 2009, 07:45 PM) View Post

umm, no....the error message "Please place this disc in an Xbox 360 console" means that the DVD drive has the improper key and will not play games unless it gets the correct key. Unless you can somehow get the key from whoever you bought it from, the console is no good for games. However, the reason that person probably sold it was that he/she probably screwed up flashing it.


Exactly... tweaking the pots won't do any bit of good. Personally I'd put the pots right back to where they were in the first place and use the drive as a spare.

#6 heiNey

heiNey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 08:40 AM

so if you get that msg it means the flashing was bad?

ive tried numerous backups and they all play fine, except dead rising. i keep getting that error no matter how many times i try to load it.

#7 Nexi

Nexi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Eastern PA | NYC
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 04:15 PM

Yeah, that's the message you'll get when the key on the drive doesn't match the key on the motherboard. I'm confused about the backups though. You're saying that some backups boot just fine on that system?

#8 heiNey

heiNey

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 14 January 2009 - 07:43 PM

not some. all backups boot fine EXCEPT ONE. uhh.gif

Edited by heiNey, 14 January 2009 - 07:43 PM.


#9 woody21_1

woody21_1

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Location:UK - Midlands
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 07:52 PM

when you pot tweak you need to lower the resistance of the pot to increase the laser output, you have increased it therefore lowering the laser power which will cause more disc reading poblems than when you started.

pot tweaking should always be done in small increments of around 100 ohms (.1 on your meter) to reduce the risk of overdoing it and burning out the laser..

Edited by woody21_1, 14 January 2009 - 07:55 PM.


#10 SergioFoX

SergioFoX

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts

Posted 15 January 2009 - 04:41 PM

Thanks for all the input

I have tweaked it a few more times laugh.gif and even went as low as 2.9 and then tried the other laser from the other xbox and no luck..
I think the key is missing or its a different drive.

My final question is once the via card comes in, will that be able to tell me if there is even a key on that drive?

#11 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 16 January 2009 - 04:40 AM

QUOTE(heiNey @ Jan 14 2009, 01:19 PM) View Post

not some. all backups boot fine EXCEPT ONE. uhh.gif


obviously that backup is not good, redo it from the original.
what method do you use for to get your backups?

soso


#12 Axel Foley

Axel Foley

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 January 2009 - 05:51 AM

Just reading along here looking for a concert answer...

I also have a box with the same problem, no key.

I'm I reading correctly that an Original Game will not play on a box without a matching dvd drive. BUT a game backup copy will?

Just wondering if I got junk on my hands.

Thanks

Wayne

#13 Ranger72

Ranger72

    MOD GOD

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,805 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumberland MD.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 January 2009 - 04:53 PM

QUOTE(Axel Foley @ Jan 22 2009, 06:27 AM) View Post

Just reading along here looking for a concert answer...

I also have a box with the same problem, no key.

I'm I reading correctly that an Original Game will not play on a box without a matching dvd drive. BUT a game backup copy will?

Just wondering if I got junk on my hands.

Thanks

Wayne



Without the proper key NO 360 game of any kind will ever load.

#14 Axel Foley

Axel Foley

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:10 PM

QUOTE(Ranger72 @ Jan 22 2009, 05:29 PM) View Post

Without the proper key NO 360 game of any kind will ever load.


without 'proper key' I am guessing is the matched key for the box...

can the key be located or a mod chip be used to correct the problem would be my final question before a put an axe into it.

Thanks

Wayne

#15 ra2shadow

ra2shadow

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 05:55 AM

Right few things, lower the pot no futher then 2.8 for safety sake.

Wait for the via card to see if you can get a key off the drive.

A drive without a key is still good for somebody else, you have no joy sell the damn thing.

QUOTE
can the key be located or a mod chip be used to correct the problem would be my final question before a put an axe into it.


na mate if you want the drive to work with the xbox motherboard you have you need the key, no chip can bypass the key. As of now there is no way to get the key from the motherboard

Edited by ra2shadow, 24 January 2009 - 06:01 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users