Jump to content


Photo

What Is The Best Bios For My Setup?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 February 2009 - 08:14 PM

I have a 1.4 xbox, with a DuoXv1 modchip (pretty positive its a version 1 chip, as the pictures of the v2 differ from my one)

Yeah, so i'm wondering what is the best bios, EvoX reads my current bios as 'unknown' altho when i boot up i get the blue X with 'executer 2' underneath, so do i have xecuter bios?

I hear iND is good bios (for the IGR and dvd opening by controller etc), is this compatible. Thanks.


p.s, i'm not asking where to get it, i'll figure that out.

Edited by A:I, 18 February 2009 - 08:17 PM.


#2 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:04 PM

Sorry for double post, can't edit, you know the drill.

I've been doing some research, somthing people (myself included) should do before 80% of the help topics are made haha.

I think i want the iND Bios 5003. My question is, can i use it with the DuoX i have? The modchip table says it has a 1mb flash (altho i think that meant the v2) and the bios tables show the iND bios needs at least a 256kb flash. So would i be right in thinking i can go ahead with it?
I'm presuming even if my v1 DuoX doesnt have 1mb of flash, it will have the minimum of 256kb to install this bios. huh.gif
Cheers

EDIT: How to i actually install the bios? It can be done through a program on the xbox right? *noob moment*

Edited by A:I, 18 February 2009 - 10:13 PM.


#3 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:16 PM

The v2 DuoX2 has 2 banks of 512k each. From the chip comparison table it seems that the v1 has 1MB in a single bank. Not that it matters much - it won't be less than the 256k that iND-BIOS.5003 needs, so it should work fine. I'd flash it with something that autofills (Evox, or Raincoat 0.7), just to be on the safe side.

#4 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:35 PM

Thanks mate. Could you point me in the right direction, i dont actually know how to change the bios on my DuoX through EvoX haha.

I have EvoX installed so I just need a tut or something.

Also, this wiring diagram for my setup says to bridge 2 pins on the DuoX for 'flashing'. Do I need to do this to allow EvoX to flash?

#5 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:55 PM

To flash with Evox you need to make sure the line:

Item "Flash BIOS",ID_Flash_Bios

is somewhere in the [Menu] section of Evox.ini - and put it there if it isn't!

You put the BIOS in a directory called \BIOS\ inside your Evox directory. Edit ind-bios.cfg to point to your dash, and copy it to the root of the C partition on your Xbox.

Then you flash from Evox!

If the chip isn't flashable Evox will give you an error message - can't remember exactly what it is, but it will probably contain "Manufacturer's ID 09 Device ID 00".

#6 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:50 PM

Awesome, its all good so far. I have put all 3 of the files into the /bios/ directory(excluding nfo file):

iND-BiOS.5003.06.bfm.bin
iND-BiOS.5003.06.bin
ind-bios.cfg


Which file do i actually need to flash? I'm guessing the .cfg is the configuration file?


Edited by A:I, 19 February 2009 - 12:02 AM.


#7 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 19 February 2009 - 12:33 AM

iND-BiOS.5003.06.bin is the one you want.

Yes, the .cfg file is the config file - edit it to point to your dash, e.g.:

DASH1=\Device\Harddisk0\Partition2\evoxdash.xbe

Partition 1 is E, partition 2 is C.

#8 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 February 2009 - 12:54 AM

Awesome, all installed and working great. I'm using the bios configuration tool which comes with the iND bios to edit the settings. Got my XBMC loading first. All is awesome.

I do have a minor question though, if you have any experience with the iND Bios Configurator, what setting do i have to put the 'Camera View Overide' on so it has the same camera angle as the default m$ blob?
ty

#9 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 February 2009 - 07:46 PM

nevermind, i got it jsut how i want it now. Thnks allot for your help.



#10 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 19 February 2009 - 07:47 PM

Which camera angle was it? I use -1 for a bit of variety, but it would be useful to know.

#11 A:I

A:I

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:Engand, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:54 PM

i couldnt find the default, but im using 5/6, which i think are quite good.

#12 willers

willers

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 06 March 2009 - 11:09 PM

I have a similar question about this bios but what I need to know is will I lose anything on my hard drive(2 Years worth of collecting and sorting files), if I just update from my unstable EvoX M8 bios to this iND 5003. I suppose I will need to make sure I get the right one so at the moment I have only the F:\ takes all so will this be the iND 5003.06?

Thanks

#13 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:06 AM

No, you won't lose anything (although the disk could fail at any moment, so I'd be making a backup if I were you!!!), and yes, you need the .06 version to give you one large F.

#14 willers

willers

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:19 AM

Thank you I will try this when I get home tonight from work. I was only thinking the other day about the hard drive failing and losing all my stuff, ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE! Will be dedicating my next weekend off to backup everything. smile.gif

#15 willers

willers

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 09 March 2009 - 03:49 PM

ok problem now is I've tried running Evolution X dashboard from XBMC programs and every time it just re boots the xbox. Any ideas why this is happening?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users