Jump to content


Photo

Using Cut Files And The Launcher App


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:02 AM

Hey everyone,

Can somebody tell me where there is good info to make .CUT files? I can't get the instructions on the stickied thread working because the option to enable bookmarks doesn't exist where the instructions say it does.


Also, could anyone tell me how to get this LAUNCHER working?

Much appreciated,
~Rx

#2 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 06:12 PM

all i had to do is make the .cut file point it to the emulater and rom and everything and it works when i choose it


Launcher

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FVCLWNDH


heres a video on how i set it up but i got to find a fix they were talking about it in the launcher forums somthing about "" is messing it up

Edit: choose final fantasy mystic quest after you get it set up
i got that one to load

EDIT2:well that game i choose int eh video wont load but every other one i try loads


EDit3: Read THis http://xbmc.org/foru...p;postcount=179
i got box art set up during the video

ill reply back when i find the fix

Edited by nate1579, 22 February 2009 - 06:30 PM.


#3 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 06:18 PM

Thanks nate,

Looking forward to seeing what you come up with on that Launcher.

About the .CUT files though, I haven't been able to get them to work.

QUOTE
3. Now we set up a bookmark, I've used the PMIII skin in XBMC as it's more straightforward. To enable bookmarks, go to settings/skin settings/bookmarks and 'enable bookmark buttons'. Create a new bookmark under 'programs' named 'neo-geo' and 'enable it'. Now, when you return to the programs section of XBMC you'll see your new bookmark displayed.

4. Now we add a source for the bookmark. Click your new 'neo-geo' bookmark and scroll down to 'add source' browse for the folder where you saved your .cut file (F:\games\neogeo\) and XBMC will scan that directory for all your .cut files. A new source named 'neo-geo' will now appear under your new bookmark and when you click this, you should see your new shortcut displayed.


I can't figure out how to do step 3 here, so I can't do step 4 either......

Any ideas?

~Rx

#4 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 06:42 PM

http://pastebin.com/m26fb84c5


put this in a text file and change the extension to a .cut

change the paths to your locations upload it to your xbox and click on it and it should work

path = emulator
Label = name that is displayed
thumb= artwork
game = the rom you want to load

that should do it but make sure to put your settings it should work with this only

Edited by nate1579, 22 February 2009 - 06:53 PM.


#5 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 08:22 PM

Cool, I'll give it a shot. Thanks nate...

Any idea why they don't need the bookmark anymore? I'm just getting into cuts so I didn't see anything in the past posts on it.

~Rx

#6 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 08:25 PM

QUOTE(ressurectionx @ Feb 22 2009, 08:58 PM) View Post

Cool, I'll give it a shot. Thanks nate...

Any idea why they don't need the bookmark anymore? I'm just getting into cuts so I didn't see anything in the past posts on it.

~Rx



i was doing the same thing i couldnt find any info so i gave up i just tried a .cut file i made from someone elses template and it worked so wasnt a big deal

well did you read that launcher box art thing he made the videos into animated gifs and fused them with a box art and it displayed as one image and the video still played with launcher thats pretty cool

#7 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 08:40 PM

Awesome... It works. Thanks nate.

I'll try figuring out that Launcher program with your video later. I'm going to try and figure out how to make a batch program that will make all the cut files for you if you have all the roms and artwork.

Later,
~Rx

#8 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 08:42 PM

QUOTE(ressurectionx @ Feb 22 2009, 09:16 PM) View Post

Awesome... It works. Thanks nate.

I'll try figuring out that Launcher program with your video later. I'm going to try and figure out how to make a batch program that will make all the cut files for you if you have all the roms and artwork.

Later,
~Rx

k thats great if you could do that i would rather use cut file then that launcher program actually

because it has to scan the files everytime

#9 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 08:58 PM

I'm definately not making any promises, but I'll see what I can do. I'm not all that good at these things, but if I can explain it to one of my friends at work he could probably come up with something.

That sucks that the launcher has to scan everytime. I'm sure there has to be a way to write the data to a file after a scan and retrieve that data the next time. Kinda like MAME does....



#10 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:13 PM

QUOTE(ressurectionx @ Feb 22 2009, 09:34 PM) View Post

I'm definately not making any promises, but I'll see what I can do. I'm not all that good at these things, but if I can explain it to one of my friends at work he could probably come up with something.

That sucks that the launcher has to scan everytime. I'm sure there has to be a way to write the data to a file after a scan and retrieve that data the next time. Kinda like MAME does....



If i knew python it would be great but i don't we need a python coder for help with launcher

#11 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:33 PM

Yeah.... I'm pretty dumb at all of that stuff. But if I find the right people to work on it we might have something.

I'd like to also alter the program to sort/filter the roms based off of the headline information in our synopsis files. I have to actually try it out and get it working before I talk any more about that though.

I'll let you know,
~Rx



#12 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:36 PM

QUOTE(ressurectionx @ Feb 22 2009, 10:09 PM) View Post

Yeah.... I'm pretty dumb at all of that stuff. But if I find the right people to work on it we might have something.

I'd like to also alter the program to sort/filter the roms based off of the headline information in our synopsis files. I have to actually try it out and get it working before I talk any more about that though.

I'll let you know,
~Rx


k sounds good

btw my modded PlayStation kinda had a accident (kids + Water + playstation = paper weight)

#13 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 09:45 PM

bummer.....

Good thing they're cheap now, but I know how much work that must have been.

Gonna get another one?

~Rx

#14 nate1579

nate1579

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Location:Look Behind you then a little to the left.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 February 2009 - 10:01 PM

QUOTE(ressurectionx @ Feb 22 2009, 10:21 PM) View Post

bummer.....

Good thing they're cheap now, but I know how much work that must have been.

Gonna get another one?

~Rx



i might try that emulator thing set up i sent you and mega man for awhile


did yall get that btw?

#15 ressurectionx

ressurectionx

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,214 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 10:34 PM

yeah, but I don't have sound on this computer. I haven't put it on the box yet since it was so large. MM says that it skips quite a bit. The ones from the PSX were pretty fluid though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users