Jump to content


Photo

Dvd Drive Question


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 February 2009 - 10:57 PM

Is there any way to run the xbox without the dvd drive


#2 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:50 PM

The only option for soft modded xboxs is to plug in a board from a DVD drive, such as a Thompson drive, so that the xbox still thinks it's connected smile.gif

#3 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 February 2009 - 11:56 PM

yeah i seen that in a post somewhere
but the problem is im doing a case mod and have no room for the board


#4 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 February 2009 - 01:17 AM

The only other way is to run custom bios with a modchip or by flashing your TSOP

#5 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 February 2009 - 02:27 AM

yeah i tried to flash the tsop
but i find the guides for the sharp very confusing
and when i did the soldering of the points
and checked it to make sure that i did it according to the guide
my xbox would turn on the off 3 times
so i desoldered it and all is well
the xbox is a V1.o or 1.1
tsop is a sharp

#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 February 2009 - 03:51 AM

Yes, Sharp TSOP guides are a bit confusing, because there seem to be two versions. Some of the tutorials say that the extra connection for the Sharp should be in place all the time, others say that if it is in place during booting the Xbox will FRAG. That's what seems to have happened to yours.

After lots of reading it seems that the one that makes most sense is where you solder the two conventional flashing points, then solder two additional wires (each about 6" long), one to each of the two Sharp TSOP points (the two points at the end of the red line in the second picture in this link.) You boot the Xbox normally, load your Raincoat flashing application, then short the two ends of the wires together, then flash the TSOP. Once it's finished flashing you remove the short, and the Xbox will reboot normally.

#7 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 February 2009 - 04:46 AM

Thanks Once Again Heimdall
I will definatly try this info
One last question before i do you mentioned raincoat i know this is some sort of exploit
but does it matter if i use it because the box im doing this on is softmodded with 007 already

#8 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 February 2009 - 04:52 AM

Raincoat is a flashing utility that can either be placed on a disk or on your xbox's hard drive. You also need to make a CD with your new bios loaded onto it. Load up Raincoat, then insert the disk when it tells you to, and then it should start flashing your TSOP. But don't forget to short the extra wire before flashing your TSOP wink.gif

#9 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 February 2009 - 05:03 AM

From the posts on the Internet it seems that Evox won't flash a Sharp TSOP, so you have to use something else - Raincoat.

Raincoat is a flashing utility, and there are versions that can be loaded via an exploit. If your Xbox is already softmodded you can just copy the gamesave to your Xbox and run the xbe in the gamesave directly. Have a look here.

Alternatively you could use Resctoox, which also contains a Raincoat flasher, or Eurasia (eurasia_pro_generic_flash_disc_1_3.zip). Whichever Raincoat you use, make sure you use a 1MB BIOS file, because not all versions of Raincoat will autofill the chip.

#10 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 February 2009 - 01:47 PM

Heimdall
I did like you said i soldered the wires on to the 2 points then booted
But id did the same thing as before it booted over and over

#11 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 February 2009 - 02:04 PM

So it FRAGs even if you have the free ends of the two wires insulated and completely separate from each other? That's odd, because until you connect the two wires together you haven't made any changes.....

#12 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 February 2009 - 07:16 PM

well yes there are changes there are 2 other bridges
and i checked them and they are all good

#13 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 February 2009 - 07:43 PM

You're right, but soldering the normal TSOP bridges doesn't cause FRAG - but solder splashes can. Double check the area around all the soldering for any small splashes. Maybe post some pictures......?

#14 dakota76

dakota76

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 February 2009 - 12:29 AM

ive checked for splashes and there is none
all works good after i remove the bridges
as for pics im sorry i cant my camera is crappy and they dont show good

#15 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 25 February 2009 - 12:23 AM

Sooooo ..... I've done a bit more digging, and found a third version of how to flash a Sharp, that matches the description lordvader gave here.

You solder the bridge on the bottom of the motherboard as normal. You solder the Sharp specific wire (the red line in the second picture here). For the bridge on the top of the board you need to solder a wire to each side of the bridge, but don't make the bridge - if you solder the bridge on the top of the board the Xbox will not boot. The wires need to be long enough for the free ends to be accessible after the Xbox is temporarily reassembled for flashing. Apparently it is easier to use 30 gauge wire, and solder it into the vias adjacent to the two bridge points, shown in white in the picture below. Insulate the free ends of the two wires for the time being.

IPB Image

You then boot, fire up your flashing application, and twist the ends of the wires together just before flashing. Once flashing is over you power the Xbox down, untwist and insulate the wires, and reboot.

Edited by Heimdall, 25 February 2009 - 12:28 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users