Jump to content


Photo

Possible To Flash Drive Without A Connectivity Kit?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 odinfire

odinfire

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 01:23 AM

I am interested in updating my 360 to iextreme 1.51 but my ck3 lite will not power up. The drive itself is already flashed to iextreme 1.5 and I have the key, inquiry, and identify bins. My question is if I can update the drive without having to order a new ck3 to power the drive?

I don't want to power the drive using the 360 itself in fear of getting banned for starting the system without the drive being hooked up.

Is it possible to flash the drive without the connectivity kit?

Thanks.

#2 vb_encryption_vb

vb_encryption_vb

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:Acworth,GA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 01:46 AM

not unless you figure out a way to power that drive...

#3 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 01:54 AM

QUOTE(vb_encryption_vb @ Mar 7 2009, 07:22 PM) View Post

not unless you figure out a way to power that drive...



he can power it with his 360

#4 odinfire

odinfire

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 03:39 AM

QUOTE(chorizo1 @ Mar 7 2009, 08:30 PM) View Post

he can power it with his 360


How could I do that without it flagging the board?

#5 Proppo

Proppo

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 346 posts

Posted 08 March 2009 - 10:40 AM

Just disconnect the sata cable and power on your 360 smile.gif

#6 vb_encryption_vb

vb_encryption_vb

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:Acworth,GA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 03:16 PM

QUOTE(chorizo1 @ Mar 7 2009, 09:30 PM) View Post

he can power it with his 360




he says he dosent want to use the 360 to power it, in the original post he made, something about fear of flagging it...

#7 Bazdoctor

Bazdoctor

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 March 2009 - 05:02 PM

Two choices

1) Connectivity kit

2) Use your 360 and dont be paranoid.

#8 DanB91

DanB91

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 March 2009 - 05:30 PM

how would powering the 360 without the drive get you banned? I don't understand....

Many people do it including me and I'm not banned

#9 odinfire

odinfire

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 March 2009 - 04:48 AM

Its pretty well known that powering the 360 without the dvd drive attached will flag it for a ban. If you did this and are not banned, you were either skipped over and it wasn't detected or you are likely to get hit in the next ban wave.

#10 gli7ch

gli7ch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:████████████
  • Interests:Guns, Girls, Cars and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 09 March 2009 - 04:58 AM

Yea...

#11 DanB91

DanB91

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 March 2009 - 05:14 AM

QUOTE(odinfire @ Mar 9 2009, 12:24 AM) View Post

Its pretty well known that powering the 360 without the dvd drive attached will flag it for a ban. If you did this and are not banned, you were either skipped over and it wasn't detected or you are likely to get hit in the next ban wave.

I wasn't connected to live when i was modding the 360. I have seen countless tutorials and all of them say you can power the drive with the 360 and NONE of them ever say that it's risky for XBL.



#12 buzz44

buzz44

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 124 posts

Posted 09 March 2009 - 11:45 AM

QUOTE(odinfire @ Mar 9 2009, 03:24 PM) View Post

Its pretty well known that powering the 360 without the dvd drive attached will flag it for a ban. If you did this and are not banned, you were either skipped over and it wasn't detected or you are likely to get hit in the next ban wave.


Holy sh*t!

Me and all the 360's I've modded must he heaps lucky... ay.

Yawn.

#13 elizle

elizle

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Indiana
  • Interests:Anything that is interesting.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 17 March 2009 - 05:13 PM

Oh no. Banhammer.

#14 I Bac0n I

I Bac0n I

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 March 2009 - 12:17 AM

QUOTE(odinfire @ Mar 8 2009, 11:24 PM) View Post

Its pretty well known that powering the 360 without the dvd drive attached will flag it for a ban. If you did this and are not banned, you were either skipped over and it wasn't detected or you are likely to get hit in the next ban wave.


There is no proof of this

The people who powered up their 360 with the drive disconnected also flashed their drive.

So unless you remove the drive flashing from the equation and still get a ban then I will believe it. Until then you are all paranoid.

XBL bans are caused by bad backups. I have a iX1.4 box that i flashed in the beginning of 08 and only ripped my original games and i didn't get a ban. And yes, i did use the 360 to power the drive back then. Still not banned......


#15 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 18 March 2009 - 02:33 AM

QUOTE(odinfire @ Mar 9 2009, 04:24 AM) View Post

Its pretty well known that powering the 360 without the dvd drive attached will flag it for a ban. If you did this and are not banned, you were either skipped over and it wasn't detected or you are likely to get hit in the next ban wave.


A complete myth.

There is no proof whatsoever of this happening.

Edited by Martinchris23, 18 March 2009 - 02:33 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users