Jump to content


Photo

More Networking


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 16 April 2009 - 06:39 PM

Ok so i posted this picture a bit ago of how my network was set up at my old apartment.
http://i403.photobuc...her/network.jpg

Here is my new setup:
http://i403.photobuc...er/network2.jpg

The main problem is that the pc and the xbox i would like in separate rooms. But the room that the xbox is in doesn't have a wall jack for a straight through cable to plug into. Otherwise i could just put my wireless router next to the xbox and then the pc could pick up the signal in the other room.

From the equipment i have could i somehow ftp/stream xbmc media from my pc to xbox that i don't know about?
Thanks!!

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 April 2009 - 07:33 PM

You need a wireless client bridge to plug in to your Xbox and connect via wireless to your router. Have a look at this post.

#3 pattythefatty

pattythefatty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 16 April 2009 - 07:40 PM

with the equipment you have? and assuming you don't want to run cables along the floor, and assuming you cant install a pass through connector on the adjoining walls, then I would say no, you cant have the xbox in the room with no network connection.

Now, you could buy a wireless device for your xbox, and use that to connect to your wireless receiver which you have in room 1. But that costs money, and again i am assuming you have none.

Have you made a converter to add a USB port to your xbox to see if XBMC can recognize the wireless USB key you have? I don't think it would work, but without buying something extra, or running cables directly through the apartment, this is the only thing i can think of to try.

#4 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 April 2009 - 08:04 PM

QUOTE
Have you made a converter to add a USB port to your xbox to see if XBMC can recognize the wireless USB key you have?
Won't work - the Xbox has no drivers for USB wireless adapters. It's cables, or a wireless client bridge. smile.gif

#5 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 17 April 2009 - 08:25 AM

I have a linksys wrt54g router and i heard it's a popular router that people 'hack' into. I was wondering by 'hacking' into it could you make it a bridge??

has anyone tried this?
http://forums.anandt...MVIEWTMP=Linear


#6 bc54

bc54

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Norco, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 April 2009 - 08:28 AM

is the wrt54g your main router, or a spare you have lying around?

if it is just a spare one, then google search ddwrt. it is a linux based firmware that has many bells and whistles, and it is easy to setup as a bridge. find a recent guide that is specific for your model, and it is pretty easy to flash the firmware. once you have flashed, all configuring is done through http, so if your network changes or anything, it is easy to reconfigure.

almost all of the xbox's internet function will still work, except xlink kai, for some reason it has to be wired to the host computer or router. i use this exact router as a bridge, and another benefit is that because it has multiple ports, i can use for my xbox and 360 at the same time.

hope i could help.

edit: didn't see your last post, that guide is using a different firmware, but it does basically the same thing, so it should work.

Edited by bc54, 17 April 2009 - 08:32 AM.


#7 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 17 April 2009 - 06:33 PM

ok cool i might have some more questions on how to do it in the near future. I might have to go buy a second router....

#8 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 18 April 2009 - 02:34 AM

Ok just to make sure i don't waste money by going out and buying another router...

To be exact i have a belkin 802.22g
it looks like this:
http://www.amazon.co...r/dp/B0006374PK

Would this setup work in theory?
In bedroom 1, I plugged the straight through cable from my wall into the wired NIC on my pc, then plugged the belkin stick via a usb port to my pc.

Then in my living room that has NO wiring for a cat 5 (straight through cable) I put the xbox, tv, and my router (linksys wrt54g). It looks like this: http://uploads.neowi...-1238359496.png
Again, there is not internet cable going into my router but, would the belkin stick from my pc be able to communicate to the router (internet/ftp) in the other room?
Thanks guys i think we are getting somewhere...

Edited by dickalan, 18 April 2009 - 02:37 AM.


#9 bc54

bc54

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Norco, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 April 2009 - 03:05 AM

i don't know if it can bridge to that usb router. you should check on the ddwrt forums, or whatever firmware you will flash. mine works, but right now i am using the linksys wrt54g t-mobile bridging to a wrtu54g t-mobile.
it might be working for me because the two routers are very similiar, but i am not sure.
definitely check with a more experienced source, like here.

#10 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 April 2009 - 04:05 AM

If you're gonna spend money, you might as well buy a wireless gaming adapter instead.
Search ebay and you'll find them.

I used to have a linksys wga11g and last one I owned was the D-Link DWL-G820.

I saved you some time... click here for ebay links smile.gif

Buy one, then connect it to your PC to configure it to your router (IP, username, password). Afterwards, move it to your xbox and you now have wireless connectivity and can stream your stuff smile.gif

Edited by Alex548, 18 April 2009 - 04:09 AM.


#11 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 18 April 2009 - 07:01 PM

hey guys I was wondering if I bought this off craigslist http://catalog.belki...oduct_Id=154416 for 20$ would i still have to bridge my linksys??

#12 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 18 April 2009 - 07:58 PM

QUOTE(dickalan @ Apr 18 2009, 09:53 AM) View Post

hey guys I was wondering if I bought this off craigslist http://catalog.belki...oduct_Id=154416 for 20$ would i still have to bridge my linksys??

it should just be a matter configuring the belkin to connect to your existing wireless networking (putting in the SSID and any WEP/WPA keys you might be using) then you should be good to go

you shouldnt have to make any changes to the linksys (unless you use MAC filtering)

#13 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 04 May 2009 - 09:47 PM

sorry to bump this and bother you guys again. I ended up missing out on those past sales.

NOW i'm looking at this model for 25 bucks:
http://shop.ebay.com...-All-Categories

another pic:
http://images.google...M...l=en&tab=wi

my question is could i use the linksys wrt54g i already have; and keep that hooked up to my computer. Than use the linksys BEFW11S4 to hook up to xbox for xbmc use and have them networked?
I don't know much about networking but would the fact that one is on a 'g' and another on a 'b' network mess anything up?? would i have to 'mod' one of them?
ok thanks in advance!!

#14 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 May 2009 - 12:59 AM

QUOTE(Alex548 @ Apr 17 2009, 06:57 PM) View Post

If you're gonna spend money, you might as well buy a wireless gaming adapter instead.
Search ebay and you'll find them.

I used to have a linksys wga11g and last one I owned was the D-Link DWL-G820.

I saved you some time... click here for ebay links smile.gif

Buy one, then connect it to your PC to configure it to your router (IP, username, password). Afterwards, move it to your xbox and you now have wireless connectivity and can stream your stuff smile.gif

Edited by Alex548, 05 May 2009 - 12:59 AM.


#15 dickalan

dickalan

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 05 May 2009 - 03:47 AM

ok good point but when my neighbor next door is selling it, the question that i asked arised. So does someone else want to ANSWER this?
Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users