Jump to content


Photo

Xdsl Questions


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 slammed87d21

slammed87d21

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 June 2009 - 11:02 PM

I just finished installing xDSL on my Xbox just a few minutes ago. I thought I would do the install like I would on my computers, using all the space available. Now I can't install Flash or Java. Says I don't have the room. Is it possible to resize it, or do I just need to delete everything for it, and reinstall? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

#2 bc54

bc54

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Norco, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 June 2009 - 11:22 PM

what type of install did you use? if you just copied the files over, then you have a frugal install, which is read only.
if you booted up XDSL then chose a type of hard drive install, either loopback aka FatX, or native.
explain your situation more.


#3 slammed87d21

slammed87d21

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 June 2009 - 11:34 PM

It's a loopback install.

#4 bc54

bc54

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Norco, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 June 2009 - 01:39 AM

double check that your linuxboot.cfg points to your loopback file. it should be at E:\xdslfs or F:\xdslfs.
also, how much space did you let it have? i think that java needed like 200mb or something like that.
if all else fails, just try to install again.


#5 slammed87d21

slammed87d21

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 June 2009 - 02:11 AM

Well, I guess I'll just reinstall it. Anything special I need to know to reinstall?

Also, for my internet, I'm using an extra router as a wireless repeater for my connection. How, in xDSL, do I connect to it?

#6 bc54

bc54

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:Norco, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 June 2009 - 02:43 AM

if your going to reinstall, use as much filespace as you can. i use 2gb which is the max, but if you think about it, regular linux distros use 5-10gb for a fresh install. if you can, you should upgrade your hard drive.
as for the internet connection, i don't really understand you. for the xbox, as long as a cat-5 cable is plugged into the back, the xbox will connect to that line. so if internet is a problem, you need to tweak your router, not xdsl.


#7 slammed87d21

slammed87d21

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 June 2009 - 03:17 AM

Ok. I figured out I had bricked my router. Fixed it now, so I shouldn't have a problem. Thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users