Jump to content


Photo

Open Tray Error Not Fixing, Recommonendations?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 immortalkz

immortalkz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 05:38 PM

so i flashed my hitachi not too long ago and recently it was giving me an open tray error for some of the games. i searched online and found some solutions which i tried. first i tried the rubberband trick, by putting a piece of rubberband on the thing to push the button, tried one layer, than two...no gravy. i than tried plastic i thought maybe something plastic would change perhaps, but no. next i found some guys where taking the silver screws out and putting them back in, only not as tight, i tried that....still no luck.

im pretty frustrated at the moment and if anyone has any other options to try feel free to let me know...otherwise would i have to spoof another drive into it??

#2 manuforti1314

manuforti1314

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 July 2009 - 08:38 PM

i always thought the open tray error was due to the dvd laser not being able to read the backup correctly. the main causes being the laser is worn or the the media the backup is on not the best.

have look here

http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=606381

never tweaked a pot on an hitachi but done a few samsung and they were good for a while.

#3 immortalkz

immortalkz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 08:41 PM

i shall try that sometime today hopefully,

it sucks cuz it wont boot backups or real discs grr.gif

#4 manuforti1314

manuforti1314

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 July 2009 - 09:38 PM

QUOTE(immortalkz @ Jul 6 2009, 08:41 PM) View Post

i shall try that sometime today hopefully,

it sucks cuz it wont boot backups or real discs grr.gif


if it won't read anything now then it might be a bit late for a tweak, a new drive might be in order.

#5 vb_encryption_vb

vb_encryption_vb

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,943 posts
  • Location:Acworth,GA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 July 2009 - 09:49 PM

Yup laser is shot and POT tweaks aren't worth it. Get a new drive.

#6 brwcrw

brwcrw

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 06 July 2009 - 11:14 PM

new laser is a cheaper fix if tweak doesn't work.

#7 insanityforall

insanityforall

    X-S Senior Member

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:kc, mo
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 July 2009 - 11:40 PM

Open tray error can also be caused by....

a) worn spindle motor, not spinning at the correct speed/skipping/pausing. (Usually this one just causes reading errors, but I have seen it do open tray as well)

cool.gif Laser's spiral rail is not working or not lubed enough or the plastic piece that connects the two isn't mounted correctly. (Check to make sure the spring is still inside that little plastic piece!)

c) Damage to the ribbon connectors

d) all of the above


#8 immortalkz

immortalkz

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 07 July 2009 - 10:27 AM

QUOTE(insanityforall @ Jul 6 2009, 11:40 PM) View Post

Open tray error can also be caused by....

a) worn spindle motor, not spinning at the correct speed/skipping/pausing. (Usually this one just causes reading errors, but I have seen it do open tray as well)

cool.gif Laser's spiral rail is not working or not lubed enough or the plastic piece that connects the two isn't mounted correctly. (Check to make sure the spring is still inside that little plastic piece!)

c) Damage to the ribbon connectors

d) all of the above


where is this spring located so i can check???

whenever i put a disc in it makes that gross grinding noise than "open tray" appears






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users