Jump to content


Photo

Need Help Trying To Flash A V1.0 With 4 Different Bios Images


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ABC-King

ABC-King

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 21 July 2009 - 05:44 PM

ok i have flased my box a 100 different times almost fragging it 30 or 40 times and still have the same problem i have tried many different flashing methods including evox and Eurasia still no go.
i get the bios flashed but only 1 or 2 bin files are being read is there any way to flash each bank seperately? and what prog is the best at makeing the multiple bios image and flashing any help would be greatly appreciated THANX

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 July 2009 - 06:01 PM

You can use x2bm to create a single 1MB BIOS from 4 separate 256k BIOSes.

Alternatively you can do it manually from the command prompt:

copy /b bios1.bin+bios2.bin+bios3.bin+bios4.bin newbios.bin

or in Linux:

cat bios1.bin bios2.bin bios3.bin bios4.bin > newbios.bin

#3 ABC-King

ABC-King

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 21 July 2009 - 06:04 PM

i have used dos and x2mb but still have the same problem eithe 1 bios boots , 2 boots but never 3 or 4 and i have read all about the thre wire trick i am useing and everything says it is possible but i cant get it to work at all

#4 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:44 PM

well first thing, how do you have your switches set up?

to use 4 bios youll need 2 SPDT switches connecting a18 and a19 to 3.3v and ground (there is a diagram in my sig)

then, the easiest (and safest) way to flash is simply flash each bank individually with a 256k bios

#5 ABC-King

ABC-King

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 July 2009 - 01:14 AM

i tried that and fraged my box so now i gotta find a 29 wire modchip or find a new xbox v1.0 but i still wanna kno what i did wrong

#6 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 July 2009 - 06:16 AM

QUOTE(ABC-King @ Jul 21 2009, 05:14 PM) View Post

i tried that and fraged my box so now i gotta find a 29 wire modchip or find a new xbox v1.0 but i still wanna kno what i did wrong

its possible the switch didnt properly isolate each back, you could try the 3 wire trick and see if that gets it going again

what bios(es) did you try flashing?

#7 ABC-King

ABC-King

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 July 2009 - 08:26 PM

i have tried everything i know o to get it working even the thre wire trick to boot to each bank and it was a bios that i made from cromwell ind x2

#8 GMMan

GMMan

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 July 2009 - 06:01 AM

Might be incompatible xcodes between each of the BIOS'. There's a page on the Xbox Linux site that talks about why you shouldn't do multibank BIOs'.

Don't flash your TSOP too many times. As with all solid state rewritable storage, the TSOP has a limit in how many times it can be reliably flashed. You have been warned.

#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 23 July 2009 - 04:46 PM

QUOTE(GMMan @ Jul 22 2009, 10:01 PM) View Post

Might be incompatible xcodes between each of the BIOS'.

this problem was solved years ago by using a SPDT switch to switch a18/a19 between ground and 3.3v (previously the method was to use a SPST to switch between ground and open)

regardless of method used to split the TSOP and bios flashed, the lowest bank should always work


and the number of writes/erases a chip can handle shouldnt be a problem either, the Hyundai/Hynix chips in 1.0s are rated to at least 100,000 cycles (i imagine other TSOP chips used have similar ratings)

#10 ABC-King

ABC-King

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 23 July 2009 - 05:05 PM

well i tried all combination of the switches and still no luck so i guess the chip is completely erased so it looks like its time buy or build a 29 wire modchip


p.s. anyone kno where i can pick up a flash rom at?

Edited by ABC-King, 23 July 2009 - 05:06 PM.


#11 GMMan

GMMan

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 July 2009 - 05:47 PM

@lordvader129: Apparently they haven't updated the Xbox Linux wiki in some time.
@ABC-King: Flash ROM chip? Try your local electronics store (the ones that sell blank circuit boards and all sorts of components). Be sure to check compatibility with the Xbox, if you're gonna solder it in place of the TSOP. Mail order catalogs also work.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users