• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 johnnydanger79

johnnydanger79

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 July 2009 - 10:24 PM

Hi everyone. Im new to this and need some major help. Someone gave me a XBOX that is not work and has the error 16. Im pretty sure there was an attempt to softmod it previously and some how this led to the error 16, but im not sure. Ive been reading different FAQs and guides online for the past few days and cant figure anything out on how to fix this.

Every guide I read seems to mention FTPing or the use of a modchip, but I opened up the XBOX and took out the hard drive and DVD Rom and dont see any chip installed. The XBOX was given to me with only the power cable and audio/video cables.

It seems like I probably needs to reinstall the dash and Ive tried some different things with xboxhd and I keep getting the message that the hard drive is locked. If anyone has ANY suggestions for me I would be very grateful. Thanks so much.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

X-S Legend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 26 July 2009 - 10:38 PM

To get rid of error 16 you have to hotswap and use xboxhdm to install a replacement MS dash. You might as well install a Kingroach NDURE 3.1 softmod at the same time.

There'a a synopsis of the method here, and the original posts are here and here.

#3 run088

run088

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Interests:rebuilding broken xboxes
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 July 2009 - 10:38 PM

This explains your options scroll to error code 16.

Your going to have to get the internal clock set. Best bet is to get a friends modded xbox to fix it. The thread I pointed to describes what needs to be done. If you have any questions about it I will do my best to explain it to you.