Jump to content


Photo

Best Bios For Tsop Flash


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Bobos

Bobos

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 July 2009 - 06:23 PM

Can any one tell me the best bios for v1.2 windbond xbox. I currently have X2 4981.

#2 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 28 July 2009 - 07:00 PM

A lot of people like the X2 bios for TSOP flashes, you could also use Evox M8 as long as it's not BFM. I personally prefer to use iND 5003 bios because of all the options you have in setting up the bios.

#3 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 28 July 2009 - 07:29 PM

iND-BIOS.5003, X2.4981, Evox M8+. All are 256k, all support LBA48 for large drives. iND-BIOS and M8+ support on-disk partition tables (so you can change the disk layout without reflashing), X2.4981 doesn't. As Joes2Silly says, iND-BIOS has the advantage that you can reconfigure lots of its features from a text file on the C partition.

#4 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 July 2009 - 08:00 AM

Not trying to hijack this thread, but I don't think you can use BFM bios on a TSOP flash Heimdall. I'm pretty sure that you have to inject the CFG file into the bios if you plan on using iND bios

Edited by Joes2Silly, 29 July 2009 - 08:01 AM.


#5 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:38 AM

You're right - but all of those BIOSes are available as flashable or BFM versions, so as long as you flash the non-BFM version that's fine. smile.gif

#6 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 29 July 2009 - 03:09 PM

Just trying to make sure a newbie doesn't nuke his TSOP wink.gif

#7 Bobos

Bobos

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 July 2009 - 03:21 AM

ill try the one you recommended. thanks biggrin.gif

#8 run088

run088

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Interests:rebuilding broken xboxes
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:15 AM

I dont think I see where anyone said to flash a bfm bios.

IND however is available in either form being bfm or bios.bin form. It can be used with or without the cfg file.

Same can be said of x2 5035 and its ini file which resides in the root of e. It works just like IND's cfg file in the root of c. This bios is useless for this thread but good for anyone with a 1.0-1.1 version xbox or an xbox equipped with a modchip which support the larger 512 size bios. I don't think it gives you much more in way of options than what you get from IND. Functionally it seems about the same. Its only drawback is that it is unavailable in anything smaller than a 512 size. These bios are far better than any other bios I have ever tried and there is no need to look any further unless deciding between the two.

Just wanted to clarify.

Edited by run088, 30 July 2009 - 09:19 AM.


#9 Bobos

Bobos

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 July 2009 - 06:56 PM

QUOTE(run088 @ Jul 30 2009, 09:15 AM) View Post

I dont think I see where anyone said to flash a bfm bios.

IND however is available in either form being bfm or bios.bin form. It can be used with or without the cfg file.

Same can be said of x2 5035 and its ini file which resides in the root of e. It works just like IND's cfg file in the root of c. This bios is useless for this thread but good for anyone with a 1.0-1.1 version xbox or an xbox equipped with a modchip which support the larger 512 size bios. I don't think it gives you much more in way of options than what you get from IND. Functionally it seems about the same. Its only drawback is that it is unavailable in anything smaller than a 512 size. These bios are far better than any other bios I have ever tried and there is no need to look any further unless deciding between the two.

Just wanted to clarify.

What is the cfg file that you keep talking about? and do you mean i shouldn't flash this?

#10 Joes2Silly

Joes2Silly

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 July 2009 - 07:04 PM

When you unzip the iND-BIOS 5003, you will have the different bios (5003 .06, .06 BFM, .67, and .67 BFM), what you want is the 5003.06. So what you want to do is inject the CFG file included into your bios before you flash it using the config app.

#11 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 30 July 2009 - 07:08 PM

iND-BIOS.5003 is flashable, but it has a BFM version that you shouldn't ever flash, because it will brick your Xbox (as would any other BFM BIOS).

The config file is a plain text file that you put on the root of the C partition to control how iND-BIOS works - everything from startup colours and sounds, to DVD and AV cable checks, to forcing the MAC address, to defining the boot dash. Download it, and have a look - it will become much clearer.

#12 Bobos

Bobos

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:14 PM

Ok i got the bios pack. It came with the IND-Bios Configuration program and four 256k bios's. Two of them were BFM, one of them had .06 and one had .67 at the end. I always heard that you're supposed to use the .06 bios if you had a smaller hard drive or something. I played with the program a little, but i still don't no exactly what to do with it. can any explain this to me? like the part where i am supposed to inject the cfg file.

Does autoload DVD load automatically in the dashboard or do they mean on startup? I don't want it to autoload in dashboard. And what are the different led stages?

In game reset:
quick
compatible??

Wire frame blob??

Edited by Bobos, 30 July 2009 - 11:21 PM.


#13 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:31 PM

You're not "supposed" to inject the config file. You can if you want to. I wouldn't recommend it until you are ABSOLUTELY certain that the config works, and even then it can be a bit limiting, and you are losing the biggest advantage of iND-BIOS - the ability to change the config without reflashing.

Don't fiddle with the config unless you have to - the default works fine. Just change the dash locations to point to your dashboard and your backup dashboard

#14 run088

run088

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Interests:rebuilding broken xboxes
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:32 PM

If you use the config file it overrides .06 or .67 and allows you to use any custom partitions you want.


.06 bios look for all extra space on f

.67 bios split into f & g. With everything over 127 gigs designated to g


You should only have to worry about using .06 or .67 bios specificlly if you dont plan on using the config.

The config file is optional to use. The bios work with or without it present. If you run ind bios without the config it runs no different than any other x2 bios.

The config is not "injected" into the bios it just needs to be placed in the root of c.

Edited by run088, 30 July 2009 - 11:35 PM.


#15 Bobos

Bobos

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:48 PM

I'll do what Heimdall says. I'll leave the cfg alone and change the dash location. But just to be clear, it is ok to use the .67 bios incase I upgrade the hdd over 127 gigs?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users