Photo

Xebian Problem... Very Small Problem Really...

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 deymer

deymer

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 August 2009 - 05:15 PM

So i installed xebian on my xbox along-side with XBMC, and it's running great. just a few things i need to do now... i need to install flash player, and i need to figure out how to keep the screen from running off the sides of my tv... when i maximize a window, it hides the address bar in firefox and the workspace-switcher at the bottom of the screen. i'm not too concerned with the flash player, because i think i can figure that one out.

thx in advance, cheers

-dan

#2 kingtiger01

kingtiger01

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 24 August 2009 - 07:00 AM

well first off, i want to say Congrats.

ive been running Eds Debian(Xebian) since 2007 biggrin.gif

--------

Now to business,
"i installed xebian on my xbox along-side with XBMC"
did you install XBMC Native(XBE install) or did you install it on Linux?

"i need to install flash player"
theres three ways to do this, all will require the use of a terminal.

1. the APT way: using the terminal, type in the following "sudo apt-get install flash-plugin", Alternatively you can SSH into youre Xbox from a PC or other Device with a SSH-client (Putty on windows, ssh on *nix)-(older versions of Xebian require you install ssh, just "sudo apt-get install ssh")

2. The web-way: you can always get a native version from the Adobe website(http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer). offered are "yum" "rpm" "tar.gz" and "deb", since youre system is a Debain based system, id suggest the "deb" installation. click it and download it.

from here open the terminal, and change to the directory you downloaded the file to.(default is /home/{username} - Alternately, "~") now just put in the following "sudo dpkg -i {filename}" (or "sudo dpkg -i *.deb" if no other debian installers are in the same folder)