1 reply to this topic

#1 shaf777

shaf777

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 August 2009 - 06:18 PM

Hi There!!

I'm new to the Original Xbox. I have a modded 360 that i use for gaming and just got an original xbox from a friend since it was collecting dust at his place smile.gif

I want to be able to use it mainly for streaming media (and possibly playing games).

I hooked it up an powered it up. It come up on the Evolution X dashboard and i have been able to FTP into it.

The version shows as V+3935 and at the bottom left there is RD Name Xbox _V1.0

I assume that this was already modded before I got it.

My questions are:

1. What should I do to use it as a media server (and still be able to game with it).
2. How do I check the size of the drive installed?
3. Should I install XBMC on the console? Or is there a better software? How do I do it?
4. How would I control the original Xbox? Would I have to use the wired controllers or can I use another remote?
5. Would I then copy all my media to the local drive and stream from there? Or can I connect a USB drive?

Thanks!

#2 xyteam

xyteam

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 737 posts

Posted 26 August 2009 - 07:39 PM

QUOTE(shaf777 @ Aug 26 2009, 06:18 PM) View Post

Hi There!!

I'm new to the Original Xbox. I have a modded 360 that i use for gaming and just got an original xbox from a friend since it was collecting dust at his place smile.gif

I want to be able to use it mainly for streaming media (and possibly playing games).

I hooked it up an powered it up. It come up on the Evolution X dashboard and i have been able to FTP into it.

The version shows as V+3935 and at the bottom left there is RD Name Xbox _V1.0

I assume that this was already modded before I got it.

My questions are:

1. What should I do to use it as a media server (and still be able to game with it).
2. How do I check the size of the drive installed?