Jump to content


Photo

Cygnos360 V2 With 512 Nand?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 niai

niai

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 August 2009 - 01:26 PM

to use this on a jasper would it just be as easy as puting a 2gb/4gb nand on it insted of the 16mb


would the usb interface still work
if not will the cygnos v1 work then

Edited by niai, 27 August 2009 - 01:31 PM.


#2 DanXbix

DanXbix

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 08 September 2009 - 01:50 AM

Won't work yet Nand size is different







#3 niai

niai

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 September 2009 - 10:57 PM

i know the nand is a different size i am asking what if i replase the 512 nand thats on it with a 2-4 gig nand what ever i have (the same size of the jasper nand) would it work then i cant see why it wouldnt

#4 letsmod

letsmod

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Location:Northern Calif. (BAY Area)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 September 2009 - 06:43 AM

we wont known until cygnos v2 gets released which should be soon

#5 niai

niai

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 September 2009 - 01:46 AM

but the 1st gen should work and i have one


i think i am going to try it out where would be the best place to get an identical nand chip and what is the actual size of the nand

#6 letsmod

letsmod

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Location:Northern Calif. (BAY Area)
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 September 2009 - 02:09 AM

I would assume the same NAND as v1, but no one but cygnos and beta testers will know as they have not even started selling them yet

#7 cory1492

cory1492

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 317 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 September 2009 - 07:05 AM

It depends on how 'hard coded' cygnos is to it's onboard NAND, if it's just handling switching chip select or chip enable and giving direct leads to the NAND it's quite possible a swap may be do-able (though I can't see any reason why they'd use an ASIC to do this?) - but because cygnos2 is meant to be able to access both NAND from USB, then it is likely a question only cygnos could answer on that one.

Keep in mind, there is much different electrically/internally between 8-16-32-64M NAND and the much larger 256-512M ones, first but not least is a huge difference in internal page size and spare layout. Adapting pinout could be the easy part.

Edited by cory1492, 14 September 2009 - 07:08 AM.


#8 niai

niai

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 September 2009 - 12:20 AM

ok new idea now seen as it will be nicer cheaper and easier
i would like to ad a xd card instead of the nand what is the size of the jasper nand as i am getting mixed messages all over bout this

and if it is 2gb witch is what i think it is now i can use a 2gb xd card
but can type M and H be used


edit
how would i go bout getting this topic title changed
and i dont know what would be a better name but the one i have now is wrong cos it was back when i thort the nand was 512mb in size

Edited by niai, 20 September 2009 - 12:33 AM.


#9 ToBbErT

ToBbErT

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,241 posts

Posted 25 September 2009 - 05:53 PM

It's 4gb

http://www.engadget....ting-us-stores/

Ah old thread didnt saw that :/

Edited by ToBbErT, 25 September 2009 - 05:54 PM.


#10 niai

niai

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 September 2009 - 12:18 AM

thanks any one know of any pen drives with a compatible nand

#11 cory1492

cory1492

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 317 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 03 October 2009 - 05:32 AM

AFAIK they used samsung 3.3V 256MiB (2gigabit) and 512MiB (4gigabit) nands in the jaspers (so far), best bet is to source the actual part or look for a small package flash drive that looks to fit only one NAND chip (if you don't mind soldering to a ball mount package a 256 or 512 MS Duo should have the right size nand, not sure if those ones are 3.3V tolerant though - nor how readily available these days.)

Edited by cory1492, 03 October 2009 - 05:35 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users