Jump to content


Photo

Liteon-74 R707 - Serial Data Bad


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 September 2009 - 07:31 PM

Hallo,
i have a custom power cable made from the tutorial here. I tried my mobile com port cable as spear but it doesn't seem to work so i tried to bridge R707 but it always gives 'serial data bad'. Is a com port device mandatory even if R707 is bridged? I don't get the intention of the error msg if no com port is needed when bridging R707.

The drive is properly detected in JungleFlasher, PortIO is installed and SiI3112 is used on Win7. Everything looks properly so far but the 'serial data bad' message.

What could be wrong?

#2 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 September 2009 - 08:05 PM

This is my power cable:
http://forums.xbox-s...&...t&p=4278854

I do the following:
1) Eject the drive (GND on Pin3)
2) Power off
3) 3.3v on Pin3 (tray closed state - by switch)
4) Move the tray to half state
5) Power up the drive
6) Start JF

R707 is bridged (soldered with kynar wire).

I press 'DVDKey32' and 'serial data bad' shows up after a second.

If i want to repeat the process i don't need to restart JF or windows, right? I just power-cycle the drive.

Edited by SilentBob1638, 20 September 2009 - 08:06 PM.


#3 run187

run187

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:england
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 September 2009 - 09:22 PM

buy ck3 or usb extractor hell of lot easier ,dont you need a ttl adapter or something to get key that way
si may not be compatable with drive some drives dont care for them
i would assume as well as brdinging ect you would need a ttl adapter to make pc think it had serial adapter
but i dont no anything about this method i am meraly guessing to help in some small way..


#4 SilentBob1638

SilentBob1638

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 September 2009 - 01:56 AM

Thanks for trying to help. I finally got the key. R707 bridging is useless when not using ck3 or anything similar that grabs signal from the NC pins (Pin1+2, enabled by R707). I tried an old mobile comport cable (nokia fbus) since there are some positive reports here in the forum but it didn't work out for me. After setting up a proper extractor (1$ homemade one) it finally worked properly at the first try. That one gave me some headaches indeed...

Edited by SilentBob1638, 21 September 2009 - 01:57 AM.


#5 run187

run187

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:england
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 September 2009 - 09:17 PM

glad you got it done just have to flash it now biggrin.gif they can be pain in arse to get keys off regardlless of what setup used its almsot like ms dosent want us to flash them ..




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users