Jump to content


Photo

Hdtv Only Has Optical Audio Out!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 09 October 2009 - 07:15 AM

ok guys I hope everyoneīs reading this.

Iīm gonna buy this hdtv

Iīm in love with it, I think itīs big enough for me and of course itīs full HD. itīs new and has everything Iīm gonna need for a few years.

well almost everything, it doesnīt have an analog audio out, ONLY DIGITAL AUDIO OUT.

the thing is I still want to use my Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System with its analog audio left/right connector and itīs good enough for me, it sounds really good.

so what can I do? what do you think itīs better for me?

1- buying some kind of Digital to Analog Decoder costing me around 100 dollars

or

2- buy something I donīt have: a new receiver.

Iīm only able to pay 200 dollars because thatīs what I want to pay, remember that Iīm gonna buy a new hdtv this Christmas in my country and itīs gonna cost me some money.



to summarize: I only have this speaker system and the new tv only has optical. what can you tell me? do you know any receiver that costs more or less 200 dollars that is as good as this one? will I be able to use the Sony STR-DH500 5.1 with my speakers? do you know one receiver better than that one from around 150 dollars thatīs 5.1?

thank you!

Edited by stevenalvarado, 09 October 2009 - 07:22 AM.


#2 leorimolo

leorimolo

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 October 2009 - 10:07 PM

Hdmi adaptor?

#3 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 October 2009 - 12:34 AM

Iīm only talking about audio here. not video.

I donīt want to buy other speakers, I just want to use the Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System.

#4 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 October 2009 - 06:29 AM

this is the way I connect it to my old tv

http://img28.imagesh...049/1002437.jpg

#5 hamwbone

hamwbone

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,775 posts
  • Location:AS SEEN ON TV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 10 October 2009 - 01:04 PM

what is going to be plugged into you tv, and what type of connections?

#6 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 October 2009 - 04:56 PM

a wii using composite

an xbox using S video

and an xbox 360 using hdmi.

now my problem is if I can use those speakers with that receiver

remember that the TV only has optical digital

#7 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 11 October 2009 - 06:27 AM

ok hereīs the manual for the receiver

link

take a look at page 9!


and hereīs the manual for the plasma tv

link


as you can see this speaker system was built for the use in a computer but it came with an adapter that I use with my panablack tv (sure itīs black) that is really old and it has been giving me trouble, but it has the RCA outputs for the adapter... that my soon to be hdtv lacks.


Edited by stevenalvarado, 11 October 2009 - 06:29 AM.


#8 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 October 2009 - 02:18 AM

scratch that!

Iīve decided for the Sony STR-DH700 because of the 7 speaker system that I will at the end buy someday and the hdmi inputs and that itīs wireless multi-room audio ready.

just hope anyone can answer my question: will my speakers work for the STR-DH700?

#9 dpbmt

dpbmt

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 October 2009 - 01:21 PM

no, the speakers wont work since they use rca jacks that plug into the sub, you need real speakers with real speaker wire

#10 stevenalvarado

stevenalvarado

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Costa Rica PlayStation3 Version: none Nintendo Wii Version: v4.1u
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 15 October 2009 - 12:40 AM

ok, thanks. thatīs really sad.

I just hope there was an easy solution for all this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users