Jump to content


Photo

Chihiro Xbox Bios Dumped


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 October 2009 - 02:56 PM

Chihiro Xbox Bios Dumped
Posted by XanTium | October 13 09:56 EST | News Category: Xbox
 
Alex dumped the Chihiro Xbox (Arcade version of Xbox1) BIOS on his blog:


Hi Folks
As promissed, chihiro xbox bios dump

Thanks to those guys to make this dump possible

Notice that i previously dumped the rest of the Chihiro Flashes, more info on this link.


Full Story: amusements-shop.com (via eurasia.nu)






#2 hfmls

hfmls

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Interests:BENFICA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 03:04 PM

sorry the noobish, but, what da hell is this meant for?

#3 sektor1062

sektor1062

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 115 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 03:28 PM

since when was there an arcade xbox1

#4 Pseudo99

Pseudo99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 76 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 03:31 PM

For the folks who are saying, "What's this?", read here: http://en.wikipedia....ro#Sega_Chihiro

#5 hfmls

hfmls

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Interests:BENFICA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 03:33 PM

more memory...this means XBMC could run 720p? or 1080p?

#6 Ranger72

Ranger72

    MOD GOD

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,810 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cumberland MD.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 04:48 PM

QUOTE(hfmls @ Oct 13 2009, 10:33 AM) View Post

more memory...this means XBMC could run 720p? or 1080p?



720p maybe but not sure if the GPU is up to doing 1080p.

#7 turbocrow

turbocrow

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 05:50 PM

nice one im doing this 720p for the win

#8 sven37

sven37

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:10 PM

In order to run XBMC, wouldn't that mean the chihiro bios would need to be modified first? Or would certain aspects of this bios be implemented into others such as xecuter?

Also, would adding 512 of RAM really have that much better performance over 720P vs the 128 hack or std. 64?

IDK, I guess I don't really see the pure benefit of this. Obviously, couldn't the current xbox1 hacked bioss already add in their own support of 512 ram?

#9 tomgreen99200

tomgreen99200

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,556 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:12 PM

This sounds really kool. 720p on my xbox1 with XBMC would be really kool. It would make it so much better. Like a whole new console. I would def use it a lot more. I haven't been using it as much lately but i still love it. I know this would require soldering on 512 modules of RAM plus this Chihiro thing (which i have never heard of). Could someone post a tutorial or a link on how this will all work. Would be interesting to have a look. Thanks

#10 TerminatR

TerminatR

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 110 posts

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:20 PM

For the noobs, the purpose of dumping this BIOS is to eventually emulate this system and games on a home PC.

I don't imagine this will happen anytime soon, as we don't even have decent Xbox emulators yet.

For those interested, here is a pic to what the hardware looks like, as well as the known games running on that hardware.

http://www.system16....ware.php?id=729

Instead of Chihiro they should have called this X-Cast, or Dreambox tongue.gif tongue.gif

#11 wolrahnaes

wolrahnaes

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:35 PM

QUOTE(hfmls @ Oct 13 2009, 10:33 AM) View Post

more memory...this means XBMC could run 720p? or 1080p?

QUOTE(turbocrow @ Oct 13 2009, 12:50 PM) View Post

nice one im doing this 720p for the win

NO!

QUOTE(sven37 @ Oct 13 2009, 02:10 PM) View Post

Obviously, couldn't the current xbox1 hacked bioss already add in their own support of 512 ram?

Right. If the Xbox1 motherboard supported larger memory modules, someone would have done it already.

QUOTE(tomgreen99200 @ Oct 13 2009, 02:12 PM) View Post

This sounds really kool. 720p on my xbox1 with XBMC would be really kool. It would make it so much better. Like a whole new console. I would def use it a lot more. I haven't been using it as much lately but i still love it. I know this would require soldering on 512 modules of RAM plus this Chihiro thing (which i have never heard of). Could someone post a tutorial or a link on how this will all work. Would be interesting to have a look. Thanks


For everyone's reference, this is of absolutely ZERO value to owners of original Xbox consoles. Their BIOSes have already been hacked beyond any reasonable expectation (could anyone really have predicted the features of the X3 and it's counterparts when this all started?), we're not going to magically gain any insight from this.

If you want 720p/1080p XBMC, go buy an AppleTV (720p only) or build a micro-HTPC off an nVidia ION platform motherboard to run XBMC Live on. Both cost around $250-300 and don't require continuously screwing around with eight year old hardware.

I love my OG Xbox, I still have a launch day v1.0 which runs XBMC in my bedroom, but the heyday of the Xbox is past and those of us with HDTVs should just learn to relegate it to its rightful place as a gaming platform and leave the computing/HD media to devices better suited to the task.


Properly on topic, I'm surprised it took this long (probably due to the limited availability of Chihiro hardware), but it's a very useful achievement for the MAME team. Maybe in a decade or two we'll have usable emulation of it, but given that my dual core 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo with 4GB of RAM struggles to run some games that run under 640x480, I'm not holding my breath. MAME focuses on accurate emulation rather than performance of course, so this is to be expected.

#12 DaShiZNiT

DaShiZNiT

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,267 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:46 PM

QUOTE(TerminatR @ Oct 13 2009, 01:20 PM) View Post

For the noobs, the purpose of dumping this BIOS is to eventually emulate this system and games on a home PC.

I don't imagine this will happen anytime soon, as we don't even have decent Xbox emulators yet.

For those interested, here is a pic to what the hardware looks like, as well as the known games running on that hardware.

http://www.system16....ware.php?id=729

Instead of Chihiro they should have called this X-Cast, or Dreambox tongue.gif tongue.gif


heres even better pix of one

Assembler

#13 Grim187

Grim187

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 10:22 PM

is everybody forgetting that xbmc already runs in 720p/1080i on the original xbox with component cables?

Edited by Grim187, 13 October 2009 - 10:23 PM.


#14 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 11:16 PM

QUOTE(Grim187 @ Oct 13 2009, 10:22 PM) View Post

is everybody forgetting that xbmc already runs in 720p/1080i on the original xbox with component cables?


+1

I was thinking the same thing myself, Grim. If you've got a PAL Xbox, just change the EEPROM to NTSC and connect Component Cables. Voilá! 720p goodness. If memory serves, quite a large number of games ran in 720p/1080i too.

#15 a_running_pir8

a_running_pir8

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 October 2009 - 11:28 PM

QUOTE(Grim187 @ Oct 13 2009, 05:22 PM) View Post

is everybody forgetting that xbmc already runs in 720p/1080i on the original xbox with component cables?


I think the people here are referencing PLAYING back 720/1080 videos...which the xbox1 never has and never will play due to hardware restrictions. Hence why people need to start modding their 360's and wait patiently for someone to port XBMC to the 360.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users