Jump to content


Photo

The Success Of Xbox Upgrade To Piii-s 1.4g/512k/133m ...


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#1 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 November 2009 - 09:02 AM

Please see the pictures ...

Remarks: The solution is only working with PIII-S 1.4G/512K/133M ,Celeron 1.4/256K/100M doesn't work
( I think this is no problem,as PIII-s/512K is more powerful )..also this solution doesn't has a switch for 740M/1.4G, as I think right now we have the patch alreday for 1.4G, and adding a swithch will make the modification more complex ....

IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image

Edited by trusty, 01 November 2009 - 09:18 AM.


#2 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 November 2009 - 09:25 AM

The links of the pictures:

http://cid-ca9a44683....4G/Overall.jpg
http://cid-ca9a44683.....G/CPU ins.jpg
http://cid-ca9a44683..... 1.4G/CPU.jpg
http://cid-ca9a44683...01.4G/speed.jpg
http://cid-ca9a44683...201.4G/HDTV.jpg

#3 docentore

docentore

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Eire
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 November 2009 - 12:51 PM

Congratulations Trusty and many thanks for all your work on this! I think many people were waiting for this for loooong time.

#4 XHarijanX

XHarijanX

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 November 2009 - 08:27 AM

Wow, Trusty. Is there anything you can't do? Thanks for all your contributions to the community.

#5 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 November 2009 - 09:35 AM

Hello.

I received several PMs ,but if I replied your PMs,the web pages will
go to error (couldn't display,I don't know why.),so please send emails

to me instead:

My Email: trustyty@hotmail.com or pansy_peng@vip.163.com
my MSN: trustyty@hotmail.com

Sorry..
Trusty

#6 supmax

supmax

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Interests:XBOX 1.4ghz CPU 128 RAM 2 TB HDD
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:30 PM

Trusty! you have just made my day! must feel good to finally solve this problem smile.gif congratulation!

#7 run088

run088

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,003 posts
  • Interests:rebuilding broken xboxes
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 03 November 2009 - 06:12 AM

QUOTE(trusty @ Nov 1 2009, 03:02 AM) View Post

Please see the pictures ...

Remarks: The solution is only working with PIII-S 1.4G/512K/133M ,Celeron 1.4/256K/100M doesn't work
( I think this is no problem,as PIII-s/512K is more powerful )..also this solution doesn't has a switch for 740M/1.4G, as I think right now we have the patch alreday for 1.4G, and adding a swithch will make the modification more complex ....

IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image

The reason I assume the 1.4/256/100m will not run most likely has to do with the fact that the processor will overclock because of the front bus speed difference. The processor is multiplier locked but cannot stop overclocking by front bus speed. With the xbox having a 133 front speed bus and the processor having a bus speed of 100 that processor is a more powerful of a processor than the 133 bus processor on the xbox. This is something you dont see a whole lot of on a pc because the companies making the components try to steer clear of it but the xbox happened to be one of the pioneers of a 133bus and most of the processors of that time were capped at a 100bus. If you can tweak the processor with a 100fsb to work it would push about 2ghz or so. Now if someone could find a 32 or 64mg ram chip to replace the 16mg we would really be able to get a good setup going. 2 companies make them or they were once produced I just cant locate them.

#8 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 November 2009 - 07:12 AM

QUOTE(run088 @ Nov 3 2009, 06:12 AM) View Post

The reason I assume the 1.4/256/100m will not run most likely has to do with the fact that the processor will overclock because of the front bus speed difference. The processor is multiplier locked but cannot stop overclocking by front bus speed. With the xbox having a 133 front speed bus and the processor having a bus speed of 100 that processor is a more powerful of a processor than the 133 bus processor on the xbox. This is something you dont see a whole lot of on a pc because the companies making the components try to steer clear of it but the xbox happened to be one of the pioneers of a 133bus and most of the processors of that time were capped at a 100bus. If you can tweak the processor with a 100fsb to work it would push about 2ghz or so. Now if someone could find a 32 or 64mg ram chip to replace the 16mg we would really be able to get a good setup going. 2 companies make them or they were once produced I just cant locate them.

Hi,you are right ,,,,, I don't want run 1.4/256/100m is because I don't like adjust the FSB to make the modifications complex, also I don't want overclock.. I think the current 1.4/512K/133m is enough .The simpler the stabler ,,

Regards!
Trusty

#9 Mr.RedRing

Mr.RedRing

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 190 posts

Posted 03 November 2009 - 09:51 AM

0_0

Im sold, how much to do it for us little people?

#10 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2009 - 04:36 AM

More pictures for HV playback:
some 720P or 1080I HV full speed,
some half speed..

XBMC-SVN_2009-09-27_rev23183-T3CH is better than the others..

http://cid-ca9a44683...ck/CIMG1819.jpg

.......................

http://cid-ca9a44683...ck/CIMG1843.jpg

Edited by trusty, 04 November 2009 - 04:37 AM.


#11 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 04 November 2009 - 10:59 AM

1.4G/512K is still not enough for :

H264-720P-mkv HD video ....
the fps is very low...

http://cid-ca9a44683...ck/CIMG1847.jpg

#12 GoTeamScotch

GoTeamScotch

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Location:Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 November 2009 - 08:12 AM

Thats incredible! Great work trusty. Truly impressive. Those heatsinks look a bit odd but if they work who cares, right?


edit-
Who am I to judge? Mine looks a little weird but I like it. biggrin.gif
IPB Image

Edited by GoTeamScotch, 06 November 2009 - 08:18 AM.


#13 Nextelhalo

Nextelhalo

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Location:ATX
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2009 - 05:00 PM

Damn Scotch.....that's a fatty. Does it cover both CPU and GPU?

#14 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 November 2009 - 12:24 PM

The recommended installation (accroding to my pictures) of the CPU & GPU heatsinks:

1. CPU HeatSink: dimension: L*W*H= 72mm~80mm*60mm*25mm (the HeatSink of old P4 is similar),
two holes :dia 4mm /distance: 95mm; Screw :M3X30mm ;
2. GPU: the another side: made by a strong steel wire ;
3. Fan speed:90% .
4. my result : At least 2 days 24 hour continuing run no problem..
http://cid-ca9a44683...ks/CIMG1871.JPG
..........................
http://cid-ca9a44683...ks/CIMG1888.JPG

#15 MasterGouken

MasterGouken

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Location:Nottingham, UK
  • Interests:Hardware mods mainly and of course, gaming!
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 08 November 2009 - 12:49 PM

Amazing work once again trusty! How much for a pre modded board from you to the UK?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users