Jump to content


Photo

The Success Of Xbox Upgrade To Piii-s 1.4g/512k/133m ...


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#31 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 November 2009 - 03:24 PM

QUOTE(capboy210 @ Nov 13 2009, 07:38 AM) View Post

wow... thats pretty impressive. So i imagine that you can run most 720P videos, with some exceptions?

do original xbox games work at normal speed with this upgrade? Does this motherboard with the new processor fit in a stock xbox case without cutting stuff up? it seems that putting the fan at 90% would be a but much. Is the regular heatsink not good enough? Im really considering getting one!

Hi,

1.Some 720P HD videos can run full speed,some half speed,H264 HD very slowly,
2.Games still can run under 1.4G P3-S, pkbunghole had just released
a patcher for 1.4G P3-S,the test result:


Games on 1.4G XBOX with the patch from 733M to 1.4G p3-s:

Before patch After patch
-----------------------------------------------------
Burnout Revenge very fast Normal
NFS Hot Pursuit 2 Normal Normal
OutRun 2006 very fast Normal
NINJA GAIDEN Normal Normal
TORK Normal Normal

3.New CPU can still fit in the stock xbox case with two points
cutting to cope with the cooling.
4.The XBOX's original heatsink can't use (Mechinical issue),need
DIY a new one.

Edited by trusty, 14 November 2009 - 03:26 PM.


#32 pkbunghole

pkbunghole

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 120 posts

Posted 14 November 2009 - 04:08 PM

Thanks for testing, trusty smile.gif

Patcher for 1.4Ghz can be downloaded here: http://www.mediafire.com/?vmnnzwxndnj

#33 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 November 2009 - 01:49 AM

[
QUOTE
does it really need a heatsink that big?

i have been running my 1ghz at 10% fan speed for the last few years
with 0 problems

and the 1.4ghz's a die shrink is it not


It doesn't need a bigger heatsink,but for mechanical installation,you
need DIY a new one,due to the total increased
height and the original plastic frame need cut to
release space for the new CPU,thus the
original CPU heatsink can't use...

The DIY CPU heatsink:
CPU HeatSink dimension: L*W*H= 72~88mm*60~64mm*25mm
( the similar HeatSink : old P4 or 1U P4 ),
two holes : dia 4mm /distance: 80mm; Screw :M4X30mm ;
two springs..

Also the fixation for the GPU heatsink need change,see the picture:

http://cid-ca9a44683...s/Heatsinks.jpg

Edited by trusty, 15 November 2009 - 01:51 AM.


#34 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 November 2009 - 02:04 AM

QUOTE
3.New CPU can still fit in the stock xbox case with two points
cutting to cope with the cooling.

the two points cutting: one on DVD frame and one on HDD frame..

http://cid-ca9a44683...nks/CIMG187.jpg

http://cid-ca9a44683.....CIMG1924 .jpg

#35 docentore

docentore

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Eire
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 November 2009 - 11:55 AM

I've got my board early this week from Trusty. Didn't have time for extensive testing, just powered it yesterday for few minutes. I have to say that XBMC was flying fast. Today or tomorrow I will try some HD films. Thanks again Trusty!

#36 GoTeamScotch

GoTeamScotch

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Location:Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 November 2009 - 07:59 AM

QUOTE(docentore @ Nov 15 2009, 02:55 AM) View Post

I've got my board early this week from Trusty. Didn't have time for extensive testing, just powered it yesterday for few minutes. I have to say that XBMC was flying fast. Today or tomorrow I will try some HD films. Thanks again Trusty!

You talkin 1.0 ghz or 1.4 ghz?

#37 docentore

docentore

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Eire
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 November 2009 - 08:44 AM

oh sh*t, where am I? mommy I'm lost... LOL

yes the 1.4ghz, I can distinguish between two threads.

#38 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 November 2009 - 01:14 AM

Thanks!! and this solutin is from docentore:

Exact huge improvement ,now XBOX 1.4G can play full speed at least

my sample H264*720P video,and I didn't see the picture quality

reduced,

the Realtime average speed from 2~3 fps changed to fps:23.98

CPU:89.17..
------------------------------------
General
Complete name : D:\H264-720P_Sub_Test.mkv
Format : Matroska
File size : 31.3 MiB
Duration : 2mn 0s
Overall bit rate : 2 188 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2006-11-04 23:43:33
Writing application : mkvmerge v1.7.0 ('What Do You Take Me For')

built on Apr 28 2006 17:20:19
Writing library : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.0
Cover : Yes / Yes
Video #2
ID : 2
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L5.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 6 frames
Muxing mode : Container profile=Unknown@5.1
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1mn 59s
Bit rate : 1 760 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.080
Stream size : 25.2 MiB (80%)
Language : English
Audio #1
ID : 1
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 2mn 0s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Video delay : 12ms
Stream size : 5.49 MiB (18%)
Text #3
ID : 3
Format : ASS
Codec ID : S_TEXT/ASS
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Sub Station Alpha
Language : Chinese
-----------------------------

Edited by trusty, 19 November 2009 - 01:15 AM.


#39 GoTeamScotch

GoTeamScotch

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Location:Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 November 2009 - 03:44 AM

QUOTE(docentore @ Nov 17 2009, 11:44 PM) View Post

oh sh*t, where am I? mommy I'm lost... LOL

yes the 1.4ghz, I can distinguish between two threads.

Its a legit question jackass. no need for sarcasm. it was suggested trusty may be doing this as a service for others but never a straight forward answer. you could have been a satisfied 1.0 ghz user chiming in saying 'trusty is great' for all i know

#40 trusty

trusty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:ShenZhen City of China
  • Interests:XBOX,HDTV,Three guns project...<br /> to chat, my Email : trustyty@hotmail.com &amp; pansy_peng@vip.163.com
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:44 AM

QUOTE(GoTeamScotch @ Nov 19 2009, 03:44 AM) View Post

Its a legit question jackass. no need for sarcasm. it was suggested trusty may be doing this as a service for others but never a straight forward answer. you could have been a satisfied 1.0 ghz user chiming in saying ' xxxxxxxx ' for all i know


Hi,GoTeamScotch,

I think Docentore is just excited ,he is talking about 1.4G/512K 128M XBOX ..anyway upgrade to 1.4G is a
very hard work,not "great "...

Regards!
Trusty

Edited by trusty, 19 November 2009 - 05:49 AM.


#41 docentore

docentore

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Eire
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 November 2009 - 02:40 PM

QUOTE(GoTeamScotch @ Nov 19 2009, 02:44 AM) View Post

Its a legit question jackass. no need for sarcasm. it was suggested trusty may be doing this as a service for others but never a straight forward answer. you could have been a satisfied 1.0 ghz user chiming in saying 'trusty is great' for all i know



Ok, sorry, sarcasm wasn't needed. My apologies. No need for calling me jackass either, as Trusty said I'm bloody excited with new toy biggrin.gif

Anyway on the thread on xbmc forum (link few posts above) I posted my conf file with which I saw huuge improvement on playing .mkv's

Edited by docentore, 19 November 2009 - 02:41 PM.


#42 ckj1979

ckj1979

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 07:01 PM

hi
do you still do this?
if so how much for a if you provide a board shipped to australia?


#43 supmax

supmax

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Interests:XBOX 1.4ghz CPU 128 RAM 2 TB HDD
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 December 2009 - 02:14 AM

Found some websites with config and dll files to improve xbmc's performance on xbox:
I have not had a chance to try any of this yet, please let me know if some one does and report some results.

http://forum.doom9.o...ad.php?t=105054
http://blog.xbmc.org...?t=27243&page=4


#44 GISJason

GISJason

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Location:Cyberspace!!!
  • Interests:Hacking anything w/ a TSOP....<br /><br />Modems, Xboxs, 360s, Etc.....
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 30 December 2009 - 08:22 PM

I've been looking all over and soakin up what I can about the process of upgrading the CPU now I just need to know can I do the CPU removal and installation with a heatgun? is it possible? This heatgun I have can do 350 / 400 degrees... Or would i be better off having someone w/ a BGM Rework station do it for me? And get the ram while they're at it?

Also I sent you a PM Trusty inquiring about just buyin a already upgraded board off you!

Thanks!

Edited by GISJason, 30 December 2009 - 08:24 PM.


#45 zorglub

zorglub

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 12 January 2010 - 10:26 AM

I just received one of those gem love.gif

Thanks Trusty, wonderful work, hard work well done.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users