Photo

Is It Possible To Read Drive With Flashing Green Light?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Panablue

Panablue

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 November 2009 - 12:11 PM

Hi,
Although I am an electronics engineer I am a complete newbie when it comes to the Xbox 360 and may have bitten off a bit more than I can chew, in that I recently bought a faulty Xbox from Ebay with the intention of repairing it, thinking it would be a cheap way to buy a console. It was listed as having 3 red lights and a faulty DVD Drive (Drawer wont close).

When It arrived I checked the dvd drive to find damage to the mechanical parts inside (Broken cogs, missing drive belt etc.) Although I have managed to now close the dvd drawer I obviously need to replace the dvd drive. I have fixed the red ring of death with a replacement heatsink fixing kit. When I power the unit, it boots correctly and I can see the dashboard on the screen. However the green light in the middle of the ROL flashes rapidly.

I have a few questions. Firstly Which console have I got? It may sound a strange question but my console does not have a HDMI output on the back and has a silver dvd drive fascia. High Definition in the dashboard system settings is greyed out making me believe it must be the arcade version but I thought the arcade version had a white DVD drawer.

Secondly, is the green flashing light due to the mechanical damage or does it mean that the circuit board of the dvd drive is not functioning correctly? The drive is a Toshiba Samsung. If the circuit board is ok I should be able to just swap the PCB's between drives hopefully avoiding the 'Key' issue. But if the circuit board is faulty I do not want to go to the expense of buying a new drive that I can do nothing with.

Hope someone can help...

#2 MadMaxGR

MadMaxGR

X-S Hacker

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,807 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 November 2009 - 01:34 PM