Jump to content


Photo

How To Install Xexloader And Play Originals Fom Official Hdd (dvd Not


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#1 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 03:29 AM

I put together a little readme for people that need some help installing their games to HDD that are using XBRebooter.

(Will work with single Nand setup) you do not need cygnos

How to install XEXloader and play originals fom official HDD (DVD not required)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


** Remember, this can only be played from an exploited XBRebootable 360 **

This assumes that you have a HDD on your 360 with enough free space to
transfer the game files to (~7.5GB)


Installing the XEXloader package:

- Download XEXloader.iso
- Burn XeXLoader.iso to CD/DVD
- Start 360, insert CD/DVD, select play game.
- Use the file browser to copy (using the "X" button) the directory
"C0DE9999" to the 360 HDD at:
Hdd1://Content/0000000000000000/

Remove CD/DVD, Restart the 360 then go to "Game Library" and
load the game demo listed as "XeXLoader"


Once XEXloader has loaded you can use the built in "CopyDVD" XEXloader
copy functions to copy your original DVD game in the DVD Rom to HDD.
(Game will create its own folder in root of HDD).


In order to run an original game copied to the HDD you must patch the
default.xex file for that game, so basically copy the default.xex to a usb
stick (plugged into the back USB port), then copy that file to the same
folder on your PC where Xextool is and use the following command (open up a
command/Dos prompt window in that folder). If you are using Total commander
just click in that folders window to make the window active and then type
"cmd" in the bottom command line bar and hit enter with no quotes and that will
open a dos window in the correct directory to make life a little easier for you


xextool -ra -m d default.xex


This will now patch the file to allow you to run the game on your 360
so delete the original default.xex file in the xbox 360 HD using xexloader and
replace it with the patched one. The game will now work without the DVD in
the drive

** You will get a E71 error if you reboot the 360 with the USB drive plugged
in if you copied the default.xex file to the root of the USB drive. Don't copy
the file to the root of the drive, put it in a folder (just create a folder
with the games name) **


Now i just got to figure out why my external Sata USB drive is not recognised.
I followed all scraps of info i could find.

A Tutorial would be nice. Hint Hint!

Edited by kipper2k, 12 December 2009 - 03:52 AM.


#2 manu07

manu07

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 03:47 AM

this only applies to people with cygnos and a dual nand setup right?

you cant run this with just xbreboot?

#3 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 03:50 AM

QUOTE(manu07 @ Dec 12 2009, 03:47 AM) View Post

this only applies to people with cygnos and a dual nand setup right?

you cant run this with just xbreboot?



Yes you can run with single nand with XBReboot installed, you don't need a dual nand

#4 manu07

manu07

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:01 AM

QUOTE(kipper2k @ Dec 11 2009, 09:50 PM) View Post

Yes you can run with single nand with XBReboot installed, you don't need a dual nand



im sorry i apologize i for not reading the first two lines i skipped right down to the good stuff

#5 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:04 AM

QUOTE(manu07 @ Dec 12 2009, 04:01 AM) View Post

im sorry i apologize i for not reading the first two lines i skipped right down to the good stuff



Haha, it wasn't there to start with, i added it after you asked the question smile.gif


#6 manu07

manu07

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 89 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 04:53 AM

i tried using my flashed 250gb wd scorpio drive but it did not contain a content folder. do i have to use areal legit MS HD for this to work?

#7 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:04 AM

QUOTE(manu07 @ Dec 12 2009, 04:53 AM) View Post

i tried using my flashed 250gb wd scorpio drive but it did not contain a content folder. do i have to use areal legit MS HD for this to work?


Wen you load the game from XEXloader that you copied to HDD it appears in the root directory of the HDD so i dont believe it needs to go into the content folder, i think that only applies to XBlive games. You just specify Copy DVD and it asks for destination and you select HDD if not already highlighted


I just found out why my external 250 Sata > USB drive didnt work. In order for XEX loader to show an external drive it apparently needs to be formatted Fat32 AND must contain at least one file in the directory in order for XEX loade tor see it.

I used Swissknife format utility and created a 250GB Fat32 partition and it shows up fine now

Edited by kipper2k, 12 December 2009 - 05:05 AM.


#8 luigionlsd

luigionlsd

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 December 2009 - 05:58 AM

What directory do these have to be in for them to show up under My Games to launch from Dash, Content?

#9 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:04 AM

QUOTE(luigionlsd @ Dec 12 2009, 05:58 AM) View Post

What directory do these have to be in for them to show up under My Games to launch from Dash, Content?



Its an automatic process, just select copy DVD, select HDD1 for destination and it will create its own directory in the root of HDD1 called backup0 (it should auto increment folder name once you add more). Once you have patched the default.xex file then you just run that from xexloader

it will not show up under my games, you will need to navigate to the correct folder and run default.xex using xexloader (highlight the file and press A)

There may be a better process to do this, this is all i could find, if people have better ways, let us know

Edited by kipper2k, 12 December 2009 - 06:09 AM.


#10 luigionlsd

luigionlsd

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:14 AM

QUOTE(kipper2k @ Dec 12 2009, 12:04 AM) View Post

Its an automatic process, just select copy DVD, select HDD1 for destination and it will create its own directory in the root of HDD1 called backup0 (it should auto increment folder name once you add more). Once you have patched the default.xex file then you just run that from xexloader

it will not show up under my games, you will need to navigate to the correct folder and run default.xex using xexloader (highlight the file and press A)

There may be a better process to do this, this is all i could find, if people have better ways, let us know

Thanks, I saw a youtube video of somebody who had the games listed in their Arcade Games list and was able to launch from there. If I put the backup# folder in the Content folder, I wonder if it would work...

#11 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:15 AM

QUOTE(luigionlsd @ Dec 12 2009, 06:14 AM) View Post

Thanks, I saw a youtube video of somebody who had the games listed in their Arcade Games list and was able to launch from there. If I put the backup# folder in the Content folder, I wonder if it would work...


I'll play around soe more tomorrow to see what happens


#12 farmboynick

farmboynick

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 06:26 AM

QUOTE(luigionlsd @ Dec 12 2009, 04:14 PM) View Post

Thanks, I saw a youtube video of somebody who had the games listed in their Arcade Games list and was able to launch from there. If I put the backup# folder in the Content folder, I wonder if it would work...
that someone was me and to do that you need to put the games in container files live/pirs with xlast or le fluffie (xlast does a better job)


#13 popaman

popaman

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 08:31 AM

This is crazy, i can't even get xexloader to load to my 120g hd. it wont even load to the content folder. I apreciate the software, but navigating though it is not the best. plus i have xexloader 0.11-ISO and xexloader 0.12-ISO.. which one do i use?

Edited by popaman, 12 December 2009 - 08:33 AM.


#14 kipper2k

kipper2k

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:Manitoba, Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 12:52 PM

QUOTE(popaman @ Dec 12 2009, 08:31 AM) View Post

This is crazy, i can't even get xexloader to load to my 120g hd. it wont even load to the content folder. I apreciate the software, but navigating though it is not the best. plus i have xexloader 0.11-ISO and xexloader 0.12-ISO.. which one do i use?


you should always use the newest release which would be the .12. Make the cd/DVD and then put the disc in the 360 and

- Start 360, insert CD/DVD, select play game.
- Use the file browser to copy (using the "X" button) the directory
"C0DE9999" to the 360 HDD at:
Hdd1://Content/0000000000000000/

can you get that far ?

#15 nevernow

nevernow

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 12 December 2009 - 03:09 PM

Thanks for this howto. A couple of questions: do games installed this way get trimmed to their actual size or do they all take the whole 7-something gigabytes? And do they suffer from the freezes and slowdowns people are reporting around the boards?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users