10 replies to this topic

#1 thebigstar

thebigstar

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 January 2010 - 08:34 AM

Hey,

I'm just getting into EE and pretty much don't know anything at all, but I'd like to disable bluetooth on the PS3 controller(I got a Sixaxis model). Problem is, I have no idea how the board is broadcasting it out, all I see are resisters and such have no idea how to cut the power to the bluetooth transmitter. This has gotta be a cakewalk to anyone who isn't me tongue.gif

Been a little while since I looked at the Controller board, but I'm 95% sure it's this model: MSU PP4.0 5 (Six-Axis, Old 'original version' board with 3 leg POTs)

[LINK]http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f320/RDCXBG/PS3%20Six-Axis%20and%20DS3/MSUPP405.jpg[/LINK]

Thanks!

#2 niai

niai

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 03 January 2010 - 07:55 PM

do you not need the bluetooth to use the controller

when you connect to usb i dont think it uses usb to talk to the playstation

#3 thebigstar

thebigstar

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2010 - 07:37 PM

Yeah it's somewhat confusing. I don't know if the PS3 reads the controller only via bluetooth for registration, or if it can use the usb interface. I know if I plug in my controller to my PC and press the PS button there is a chance that it will start searching for the PS3 so it can register itself with it(instead of just staying connected to my PC via USB, very annoying).

Fortunately I don't care, I just want a controller that will work 100% with my PC without any extra crap like always searching for a PS3.

Can someone PLEASE point out which parts of the controller board I have to dismantle to disable bluetooth?

#4 niai

niai

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts

Posted 10 January 2010 - 09:06 PM

didnt know there was usb drivers out it must use usb when connected to ps3

IPB Image