Jump to content


Photo

Xbr Jasper Suddenly Shuts Of Every 5 Minutes


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 arielzadi

arielzadi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 201 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 25 January 2010 - 11:19 PM

flashed xbr works perfect
but every 5 minutes it turns off by itself
its a new jasper so i dont belive its a hardware problem
should i try to reflash xbr?
thanks

#2 StraightShooter

StraightShooter

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 26 January 2010 - 12:12 AM

Check your soldering and make sure the black line on the diodes is facing the right way.

#3 Biaz

Biaz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 190 posts

Posted 26 January 2010 - 08:35 AM

It has nothing do to with the JTAG wiring. It's only used to boot the console, it does nothing pre-boot. I thinking either a problem with the flashing or a hardware problem. Maybe it gets too warm and shuts down?

#4 arielzadi

arielzadi

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 201 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 26 January 2010 - 09:30 AM

well its a jasper board so im not sure its getting to hot
but my friend had a theory that maybe one of the points that i solderd the lpt cable on to flash it may be getting hot the molting or touching something else and thent it shuts
down
can it be or should i reflash the xbr

#5 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 January 2010 - 06:55 PM

mine was shutting off quite a bit last night while I was installing games using nxe2god. I found that it happend every time I turn on or off my other 360 on the same power strip. weird?

#6 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 January 2010 - 05:15 PM

ok, I messed around with it a little bit more, it restarts during game installs using NXE and when I unplug and plug in controllers. Also one time I booted and the Ring of light had controller 3 lit and no other one but the wireless controller was showing it was player one still.

#7 Aldanga

Aldanga

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hardware,software,coding,algorithms, troubleshooting, tinkering with anything I can get my hands on.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 27 January 2010 - 05:34 PM

Reflashing XBR can't hurt (as long as you don't brick your console).

@jgsieve: There's a possibility your power source is dirty. Have you tried a different outlet or building entirely?

#8 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 January 2010 - 06:29 PM

QUOTE(Aldanga @ Jan 27 2010, 10:34 AM) View Post

Reflashing XBR can't hurt (as long as you don't brick your console).

@jgsieve: There's a possibility your power source is dirty. Have you tried a different outlet or building entirely?


I haven't tried another circuit in my house but I've always had 360 lan parties there. It won't hurt to give it a shot though.

thanks

#9 farntheplaya

farntheplaya

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 60 posts

Posted 27 January 2010 - 07:48 PM

sounds like power supply to me too.

try getting a differnt power supply too

#10 Aldanga

Aldanga

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hardware,software,coding,algorithms, troubleshooting, tinkering with anything I can get my hands on.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 27 January 2010 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE(jgsieve @ Jan 27 2010, 11:29 AM) View Post

I haven't tried another circuit in my house but I've always had 360 lan parties there. It won't hurt to give it a shot though.

thanks

No problem. Also try what farn suggested and try a different 360 PSU.

Edited by Aldanga, 27 January 2010 - 08:21 PM.


#11 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 January 2010 - 03:36 PM

ok, i tried another power supply on a different circuit, it still turns off. I was thinking though, I have my xbox HDD as a 2TB esata, I have read that my hdd enclosure will not go to sleep when esata is connected but it has the symptoms of a hard drive getting disconnected and reconnected.

#12 Aldanga

Aldanga

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,722 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Hardware,software,coding,algorithms, troubleshooting, tinkering with anything I can get my hands on.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 29 January 2010 - 03:41 PM

Have you tried it without any peripherals connected?

#13 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 January 2010 - 04:30 PM

yes, the controller doesn't matter, but I had previously a oem 120gb hdd and had no power interruptions. I gotta a friend with a esata 2TB for his jtag, I think I might test his out on mine and see if there are any restarts.

#14 jgsieve

jgsieve

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 113 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 January 2010 - 06:18 PM

after reading reviews of my external esata enclosure I decided to buy a vantec (which has no sleep functions) The reviews of my macally esata enclosure, people were saying that under load the hard drive can disappear (hence a restart) I figure for $22, i could wash my hands of the problem (hopefully)

#15 YoungGeekGuy

YoungGeekGuy

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 January 2010 - 06:37 PM

Glad you got it worked out, the problems no one else has are always stupid ones like this.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users