Jump to content


Photo

Swap One Modded Xbox Hdd For Another


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 FroZenCoRe

FroZenCoRe

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 February 2010 - 07:07 AM

Hi,
a while back I had two xbox's that I softmodded with splintercell hack and Krayzie.
I gave one to my sister, which has now died (motherboard or memory failure) I am no longer using mine so I am going to give it to her. she had just finished re-sorting all her media in XBMC on the day it died and was hoping not to have to go through this again, so I am hoping that i can

USING XBOXHDM
1. unlock her HDD with the eeprom backup of her xbox
2. re-lock it with my eeprom backup
3. replace my HDD with hers
4. unlock my hdd with eeprom backup of my xbox
5. restore my hdd to normal for PC use


is it as easy as these steps I have laid out?

#2 rmathiot

rmathiot

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 February 2010 - 07:26 AM

You got it man! That should be all that you have to do. Make sure you know which eeprom belongs with which xbox.

#3 FroZenCoRe

FroZenCoRe

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 09 February 2010 - 07:36 AM

I thought so,
It's just been a while since I did anything except a straight out mod install!



#4 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 12 November 2011 - 08:33 AM

i also have a related question.. i just soft modded my xbox and i have my old hdd from my xecuter modded xbox from years ago... i would like to have my old stuff back.. how would i change hdd from my old to new? i have eeprom back up of new, and probobly eeprom backup on hdd of old but maybe not... how would i retrieve it from the old? any way to just replace it with the new as my old console is trashed?

#5 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,966 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 November 2011 - 12:44 PM

If they drive is locked it will have to be unlocked and then relocked with the key from the softmodded xbox. If you do not have the eeprom back up that the drive was locked to it is still possible to unlock the drive with the master password. Whats the make and model of the hard drive?

#6 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 03:00 AM

i have a Western Digital (WD1200) WD Caviar. 120gb. MDL: WD1200JB - 00DUA0. thx for ur reply!

#7 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 November 2011 - 09:23 PM

any advice on how to unlock this drive with a master password?

#8 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,966 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 November 2011 - 09:43 PM

Yeah, how was the drive locked in the first xbox? Did you use xboxhdm or some other method to lock it?

#9 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 12:46 AM

i think configmagic.. i did it like 5 or 6 years ago its hard to remimber. lol .

#10 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 November 2011 - 01:28 AM

Use xboxhdm option 4 (which runs atapwd), or run atapwd from another disc, or from your PC hard drive (but that's not really recommended, in case you accidentally mess with the wrong hard drive). Select "remove lock with master password" (that may not be the exact command, but it's fairly obvious). The master password should be TEAMASSEMBLY or possibly XBOXSCENE.

You can also use MHDD instead of atapwd, although I've never tried it with a master password so you might need to do a bit of reading.

Edited by Heimdall, 14 November 2011 - 01:49 AM.


#11 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:22 AM

cool thx! so i made the boot cd... now do i have to disconnect my pc hdd and connect the xbox hdd there and boot up? or can i use any available ide and plug the xbox hdd in also?

#12 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:34 AM

I'd always disconnect the PC hard drive, just to avoid any finger trouble.

#13 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 03:40 AM

i unplugged my pc hdd and plugged my xbox hdd in and start the pc... i choose option 4 and it displays a bunch of dos text and then gives me -initDiskError reading partition table drive 00 sector 0error press f8 to trace or f5 to skip CONFIG.sys
then just goes back to a:\.... i tried pressing f5 and it says skipping config.sys/autoexec.bat but just goes back to a:\ also.. any ideas? is there a certain way im supposed to be hooking it up?

#14 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 04:24 AM

wen i choose no number and just hit enter it finds my drive as primary master and says it is locked.. so it is recognizing my hdd but it wont initiate option 4. is there some type of jumper setting or certain ide cable i need to connect it to?

#15 ViSiON2099

ViSiON2099

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 14 November 2011 - 05:58 AM

i just tryed atapwd.exe from windows and it just says detecting drives...... and closes automatically. i dont see how to make a bootable disk with atapwd on it... my pc recognizes it.. i dont understand what i have to do to get it to unlocked.
EDIT: just tryed MHDD and it says device not ready..... i enabled primary controller in .cfg

Edited by ViSiON2099, 14 November 2011 - 06:23 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users