Jump to content


Photo

Mgs2 Substance 2xdvd-r Backup


  • Please log in to reply
192 replies to this topic

#1 [Sonix]

[Sonix]

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2003 - 12:21 AM

This tool & info will enable you to backup MGS2 Substance to 2 DVD-R(W).
The main game is on DVD1 and all the extras (extra missions, vr missions) are on DVD2.
You will need approx 15GB of space on your PC HDD to do this correctly.


First you need to copy the entire contents of the original DVD to your pc hard drive.
Now download my MGS2_XBOX tool (Get it HERE) (If you previously downloaded the tool from another post then you will need to get this latest version)

user posted image

Read the txt file included for full instructions.

This tool has only been tested on the UK-PAL version of the game and I have no way of knowing if it will work on any other version.

A Big thanx to XbOxGoD for helping with the testing beerchug.gif

NOTE: When you load DVD2 press the A button on your pad when you see the Konami Logo screen - the intro movie had to be removed from DVD2 so if you don't press A the game will freeze. Pressing A will bypass the intro and take you directly to the Menu screen.

ANOTHER NOTE: Sometimes when ppl use my tools for the first time they get an error regarding missing/corrupt dll files. Go to google and search for the latest version of the dll and things will be okay.

Edited by [Sonix], 02 July 2003 - 01:54 PM.


#2 reklis

reklis

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 01:02 AM

Could you please point me to a totorial about HEX-editing an ISO for re-linking movies and files? I haven't been able to find a decent explaination anywhere.



#3 bagong

bagong

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 05:46 AM

GREAT WORK!

Many THANX Sonix

#4 gianniz

gianniz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 113 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 06:11 AM

how come only the first 2 files? what about other files??

#5 Judge

Judge

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, AUS
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 June 2003 - 07:23 AM

Great work Sonix, I remember the great work that you did with the ps2ownz forums. I have no idea how you managed to do it, but a lot of xbox ppl thank you very much. Amazing.
laugh.gif

#6 garry

garry

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 146 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 01:30 PM

Yeh ive been waiting ages to get this game thanks mate.of to the videoshop i go.

Edited by garry, 30 June 2003 - 01:34 PM.


#7 [Sonix]

[Sonix]

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2003 - 04:29 PM

QUOTE
how come only the first 2 files? what about other files??


You only need to browse for the first file in each set (disc1_0.dat & disc2_0.dat). The tool automatically knows the rest of the set is in the same place.

#8 sonob

sonob

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 05:24 PM

Has anyone tried this on a NTSC ver. yet??

#9 Romps

Romps

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 420 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 June 2003 - 08:32 PM

Nice work sonix nope great work smile.gif
This tool should make front page imo.

#10 Moshvandal

Moshvandal

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 June 2003 - 11:37 PM

Awesome work mate!!

Just one thing, it doesn't seem to work for me :(
Trying to run it off the xbox HDD, when I select it, it goes to the EvolutionX loading screen, then just hangs there.


Heres MY final file sizes:

default.xbe - 6.35MB
disk1_0.dat - 2KB
disk1_1.dat - 500MB
disk1_2.dat - 500MB
disk1_3.dat - 500MB
disk1_4.dat - 500mB
disk1_5.dat - 107MB

are they correct?

#11 bagong

bagong

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 01:29 AM

QUOTE (Moshvandal @ Jul 1 2003, 01:37 AM)
Awesome work mate!!

Just one thing, it doesn't seem to work for me sad.gif
Trying to run it off the xbox HDD, when I select it, it goes to the EvolutionX loading screen, then just hangs there.


Heres MY final file sizes:

default.xbe - 6.35MB
disk1_0.dat - 2KB
disk1_1.dat - 500MB
disk1_2.dat - 500MB
disk1_3.dat - 500MB
disk1_4.dat - 500mB
disk1_5.dat - 107MB

are they correct?

I got exactly the same result.
Uploaded it to XBHD but Evox only hang.

Any problem Sonix?

Thanks.

PS: the same story for the second DVD.

#12 indecisve

indecisve

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 06:21 AM

If u select disc2.* and process dvd1 it will do the disc2 files ... However with the US version its bigger than a dvdr. So maybe the instructions are wrong somehow?? Or maybe it doesnt work with it smile.gif

(Must do this otherwise it wont be anyway.... if this worked with only processing disc1 files the spliting the disc into two would work and they be no need for an extracter/builder.)



#13 radfx

radfx

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 133 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 06:34 AM

awesome program (havnt tested it yet) but im sure it will be cool smile.gif

thanks

#14 bagong

bagong

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 06:51 AM

QUOTE (indecisve @ Jul 1 2003, 08:21 AM)
If u select disc2.* and process dvd1 it will do the disc2 files ... However with the US version its bigger than a dvdr. So maybe the instructions are wrong somehow?? Or maybe it doesnt work with it smile.gif

(Must do this otherwise it wont be anyway.... if this worked with only processing disc1 files the spliting the disc into two would work and they be no need for an extracter/builder.)

Yeah. I notice that too.
but anyway both DVDs won't work sad.gif
I haven't tested in DVD but in Hard disk, it doesn't work. sad.gif

#15 auberon

auberon

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 July 2003 - 08:11 AM

Does the xbe have any media check protection? Can someone check it with a hex editor? I mean the situation when you load a backedup game and it throws you back at evox it is usually a media check protection. Sonix never mentioned anything about his utility removing the media checks. Any thoughts on this? Also please state the version you are trying to backup (pal-ntsc) because it gets confusing after a while.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users