Jump to content


Photo

Creating A 1024k Tsop Bios File From A 256k Bios File


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Trebz

Trebz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:UK - South Yorkshire
  • Interests:___
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:09 PM

Gentlemen.....and ladies...

Im working on a new Xbox.

Version 1.1

I plan to complete a TSOP flash with the X2 4981 Bios.

The 4981 Bios is a 256k file but i need to make it 1024k for the Version 1.1 Bios chip.

I have used Xbtool in the past to work on 256k Bios files with great results.

I noticed that there is a setting within Xbtool to set the Bios file size to 1024k

I tested this by creating a 'Test' Bios file and set Xbtool to 1024k

The Bios file produced was 1024k in size.

Is this Bios file safe to flash to the Version 1.1 Bios chip?

Thanks

Trebz

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just read this in the post below mine Duh!

http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=231408

So i can:

Write enable the motherboard via soldering as usual. A 1.1 has two points to bridge on top of the board and two underneath.

Softmod the Xbox with the Slayers disk.

Install the EvolutionX dashboard.

Flash the 256k Bios file to the Bios chip with the EvolutionX dashboard, EvolutionX will auto resize the 256k Bios file to 1024k.


I think thats right.....?

Edited by Trebz, 05 March 2010 - 08:09 PM.


#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:25 PM

Yes, either method will work. smile.gif

#3 Trebz

Trebz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:UK - South Yorkshire
  • Interests:___
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:26 PM

QUOTE(Heimdall @ Mar 5 2010, 07:25 PM) View Post

Yes, either method will work. smile.gif



Mr H himself blesses my post with his godlike presence.

Thanks H.

I'll crack on with it.

:-)

Edited by Trebz, 05 March 2010 - 08:27 PM.


#4 pattythefatty

pattythefatty

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 111 posts

Posted 05 March 2010 - 10:29 PM

QUOTE
Write enable the motherboard via soldering as usual. A 1.1 has two points to bridge on top of the board and two underneath


Just to clarify, you only need to solder 2 points, not 4. It isn't solder two on top AND two on bottom, it is solder two on top OR two on bottom. (Or I suppose if you wanted to get really fancy, you could one on top and the opposite one on the bottom... j/k tongue.gif )
-PTF


#5 Trebz

Trebz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:UK - South Yorkshire
  • Interests:___
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 March 2010 - 10:24 AM

Right then.

TSOP Flash done.

I followed the same process as i did in one of my other posts:

One of my other posts

Strange thing is that i could not find the Flash Bios option in the EvoX dahboard. I used one of the stock Bios's from the Slayers disk to test the write enabling solder work. All ok there.

I'm running EvolutionX Version 3935 and i can't see the Bios Flashing tool in the menu's.

Odd as im certain i used the same version of EvolutionX when i did my last TSOP work, as shown in the link above.

I need to flash the bios via EvolutionX as i have a custom bios ready for it.

Help?

#6 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 March 2010 - 03:59 PM

QUOTE(pattythefatty @ Mar 5 2010, 03:29 PM) View Post

Just to clarify, you only need to solder 2 points, not 4. It isn't solder two on top AND two on bottom, it is solder two on top OR two on bottom. (Or I suppose if you wanted to get really fancy, you could one on top and the opposite one on the bottom... j/k tongue.gif )
-PTF

that is incorrect, both the top bridge and the bottom are required for 1.1 and 1.0s

there are 2 top and a bottom bridge on 1.2-1.5, the bottom being a duplicate of one of the top sets, likeley leading to the confusion (1.2-1.4 require only the 2 top sets)

check my sig for pictures

#7 $tArKiLl3R

$tArKiLl3R

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 19 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2010 - 05:17 PM

QUOTE(Trebz @ Mar 6 2010, 01:24 AM) View Post

Right then.

TSOP Flash done.

I followed the same process as i did in one of my other posts:

One of my other posts

Strange thing is that i could not find the Flash Bios option in the EvoX dahboard. I used one of the stock Bios's from the Slayers disk to test the write enabling solder work. All ok there.

I'm running EvolutionX Version 3935 and i can't see the Bios Flashing tool in the menu's.

Odd as im certain i used the same version of EvolutionX when i did my last TSOP work, as shown in the link above.

I need to flash the bios via EvolutionX as i have a custom bios ready for it.

Help?


just download the lates version of evoX and replace it via ftp after that just reboot your xbox and you will have flash bios option...........PS evox will re-size the bios for you plus why don't you try the x2 5035 bios is fully customizable via its ini.file like that you don't have to re-flash your xbox again tongue.gif

#8 Trebz

Trebz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:UK - South Yorkshire
  • Interests:___
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 March 2010 - 06:07 PM

I just downloaded the 3935 version from Xbins.

Bios option is now available.

Nice !!

Comments about the other Bios's understood :-)

Edited by Trebz, 06 March 2010 - 06:12 PM.


#9 murauder

murauder

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location:Ky, U.S.A.
  • Interests:Music, computers, electronics, internet, technology, guitar, writing, video games, outdoors and guns
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 06 March 2010 - 09:10 PM

hey trebz just a note for future reference. its not the evoxdash file that needed to be changed. the menu in the evox.ini needed to be edited. so if ever you dont see an option you know evox is suppose to have, chances are the menu in the ini just needs to be edited




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users