Jump to content


Photo

Need Help ! 0020


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 BladeWing

BladeWing

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Music, games and music games !!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 12:18 PM

Ok, i have a Xenon Xbox360 that has NEVER had any sort of problems before. About 2 days ago, it threw up the 3RRoD. The Secondary Error Code is 0020. What is wrong with it and why the hell is it so sudden. I couldnt even find an explanation in the sticky.

PLEASE HELP !!

#2 MadMaxGR

MadMaxGR

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,803 posts
  • Location:Cyprus
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 12:32 PM

I thinm it is time for x-clamp fix replacement and reflow.

#3 BladeWing

BladeWing

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Music, games and music games !!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 01:11 PM

Your kidding right ??? I just sent my Jtag'ed xbox to a repair shop to get the GPU re-flown and im waiting on that. Now i have to do it to a second xbox. dry.gif

Screw that, ill probably just sell it as a RRoD'ed xbox. Thanks anyway mate happy.gif

#4 MadMaxGR

MadMaxGR

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,803 posts
  • Location:Cyprus
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 01:18 PM

To be honest the 0020 is propably two things:

1. GPU overtightened (in your case thats not an issue but might be a GPU reflow issue)
2. RAM chips need reflow.

So , don't give up so easily.

#5 BladeWing

BladeWing

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Interests:Music, games and music games !!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 01:21 PM

They both require the X-Clamps to be removed, last time i did that, i killed my xbox !!

Can the original clamps be taken off then put back on, or would i need to buy new clamps ?? If the former, i might try reflowing the Ram chips.

Also, whats the best tools for reflowing the chips ?? I dont have a heat gun and they are hard to come by in Ireland.

#6 MadMaxGR

MadMaxGR

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,803 posts
  • Location:Cyprus
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 02:32 PM

QUOTE(BladeWing @ Mar 16 2010, 02:21 PM) View Post

They both require the X-Clamps to be removed, last time i did that, i killed my xbox !!

Can the original clamps be taken off then put back on, or would i need to buy new clamps ?? If the former, i might try reflowing the Ram chips.

Also, whats the best tools for reflowing the chips ?? I dont have a heat gun and they are hard to come by in Ireland.


Well, you can use the old ones if you are carefull and don't bend them, keeping their original shape. Now, for the reflowing the RAM chips you can use a really powerfull hairdryer, but have in mind that it might not work. Use no-clean flux if you have available to help the hairdryer to reflow. Good luck...

#7 relaxxx

relaxxx

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 926 posts

Posted 16 March 2010 - 02:59 PM

My son is in the other room playing an 0020 console as I type this. All I had to do was reflow the GPU to get it to boot. It's still running with its original X-Clamps with my other preventative mods of course.





#8 MadMaxGR

MadMaxGR

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,803 posts
  • Location:Cyprus
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 March 2010 - 03:19 PM

Good to know smile.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users