Jump to content


Photo

Network Switch And Wireless


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dballs442

dballs442

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:Durango, CO
  • Interests:Sustainability, Playing music, Mountain Biking, Snowboard, Games, Micro Beer, Camping, River Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 April 2010 - 08:58 PM

so i have just built a new xbox for my room where i also have my computer.

my wireless router and modem are downstairs.

i connect my pc to my linksys router wirelessly. (nic 1)

I have an on-board NIC card on my motherboard in my PC (nic 2). (as well as the wireless nic card i use to connect to my router (nic 1))

i have a linksys 5 port switch lying around.

MY QUESTIONS are:

1. how can i set up my switch so i can ftp into my xbox from my pc? do i need to disable my wireless card? do i put the computer in the unlink spot? or both devices in the 1-5 slots? do i use static or auto ip? if static, what do i set all the DNS, IP, Default Gateway etc... to on both devices?

2. can i get internet to my xbox like such:
Modem>Wireless Router>PC (wireless nic 1)>PC (wired nic 2)>switch>xbox?

thank you for your time hope this makes sense ask any questions.

#2 flux2k

flux2k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 01 April 2010 - 10:10 PM

In Windows 7, find your network devices, select your wifi card and your network card, right click and bridge them. Plug your Xbox into your PC and it should be good to go.

#3 dballs442

dballs442

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:Durango, CO
  • Interests:Sustainability, Playing music, Mountain Biking, Snowboard, Games, Micro Beer, Camping, River Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 April 2010 - 10:20 PM

thanks for the speedy reply

i run xp not w7 however there is a bridge option in xp as well. i did that.

you say plug my xbox in but i dont have a crossover cable. can i still use the switch with this option?

also there are 3 options in network devises.:

Local Area Connection | Wireless Network Connection | and 1394 Connection.

which ones do i bridge? if i enable the local area connection it says limited or no connectivity. but the 1394 seems to enable fine.

i bridged the 1394 and the wireless. the xbox found an automatic dchp ip address. i tired to ftp to it with no luck


EDIT: never mind i got it! Bridged the local area connection with the wireless even though there was limited or no connectivity and even though the bridge said the cable was unplugged it works! thanks never played around withe bridging before.

Edited by dballs442, 01 April 2010 - 10:23 PM.


#4 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,966 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 April 2010 - 10:33 PM

You should also be able to set it up so that the xbox runs to the wired nic and then the pc connects to the internet with the wireless. But if you are happy with what you have now cool

#5 dballs442

dballs442

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Location:Durango, CO
  • Interests:Sustainability, Playing music, Mountain Biking, Snowboard, Games, Micro Beer, Camping, River Sports
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 April 2010 - 06:30 AM

yea i got it all. the xbox has internet. smile.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users