Jump to content


Photo

Help Flashing Xbox Debug Kit Into Retail Xbox


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 08 April 2010 - 06:08 AM

i've been searching for days now and i don't see any solution in my question.
is it posible to flash an debug kit to retail?
then how to flash it?

#2 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 April 2010 - 09:25 AM

There is no need to do that. I use the Phoenix Bios Loader to start the xbox debug bios.
I think the bios is the tatx bfm (boot from memory) debug bios. The Phoenix Bios Loader came from the kingroach ndure package. You can find it in the E:\ndts folder. It is the default.xbe that is used to launch the maintenance unleashx dashboard. The debug dashboard files can live together on your C partition with the retail dashboard files. Both debug dash and retail M$dash work fine.

The original M$ debug biosses that come with the xdk recovery cd work as well. You just can't run a retail signed xbe with one of those.

regards.

#3 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 08 April 2010 - 02:13 PM

but i really need to flash it, is there is a way to do that?

#4 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 April 2010 - 04:05 PM

QUOTE
but i really need to flash it


It might help if you could explain us why?

Flashing a debug bios is the same as flashing a retail bios.
However, most debug biosses are 1 meg in size.
On some xbox versions with only a 256KB flash chip, you can't flash those.
It also means you don't have a way to recover from a bad flash in case things go wrong.
(Besides installing a modchip.)

regards.


#5 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 09 April 2010 - 03:28 AM

im from philippines, and here in PH Xbox is a big business, we put it in an arcade machine.
that's i need it to boot in XBMC dash 1st.

and i flash thousand of retail xbox, this is my 1st time to flash a debug kit

Edited by an2ny0515, 09 April 2010 - 03:30 AM.


#6 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 09 April 2010 - 05:11 AM

i found some solution, but i can't run evoxdash, is there is way to run evoxdash in debug kit

#7 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 April 2010 - 08:27 PM

Evoxdash is just a xbe like the others.
What debug bios did you use on your xbox?
As I told already, some debug biosses will not run retail signed applications.

To run xbmc, you don't need a debug bios.
As I already explained, you can launch a debug bios with the Phoenix Bios Loader from within your xbmc dash.

You still didn't tell what you are trying to do. Running the evoxdash on a debug bios doesn't make much sense to me, unless you are trying to take screenshots.

regards.

#8 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 10 April 2010 - 01:39 AM

i need to put a 500gb HDD, debug bios dosen't support it,

#9 steveo1978

steveo1978

    Local Retard

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,967 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 10 April 2010 - 04:12 AM

you should really look at the value of the debug xbox before you go about flashing a retail bios or any other bios for that matter. The debug unit is a rare item. Your best bet though is to just install a chip and flash that with a bios.

#10 an2ny0515

an2ny0515

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 10 April 2010 - 07:05 AM

what chip should i try??
and
what bios should i flash??

X-ray3 chip is not available in my country

#11 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 10 April 2010 - 10:03 AM

Sorry, I totally misunderstood.
I thought you tried to flash a debug bios in a retail xbox instead of the other way around.
Forget all previous I wrote.

A debug unit differs from a retail one:

I think it has 128MB of memory instead of the usual 64MB
The MCPX chip is different. It contains different code to decode the 1BL (first part of the bios)
The tsop flash write enable points are connected. The tsop is flashable.

I remember having read that a lot of biosses have problems with 128MB of memory.
You will need to find a bios that works fine with it.

I also have read somewhere that the eeprom of a debug unit is empty.

I agree that a debug unit is more valueable if you leave it intact.
I can understand that the situation is diferent in your country.

There are programs that can modify the header of a xbe from retail to debug.
Maybe you can get the evoxdash running that way?

The easiest way to get programs on the debug unit is probably installing the xdk on a pc.
It will create a xbox neiborhood with access to the xbox harddisk.

An alternative to the evoxdash might be raincoat.
However, if I remember well, debug biosses don't like programs that are created without the official xdk.
The small reboot program for instance refused to run from the debug dash.
The eeprom can be programmed with an eeprom reader in case it should be empty. You can create a valid eeprom image with the liveinfo beta 3 program.

regards.




#12 gen13

gen13

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 08 October 2013 - 12:47 AM

Hi - I want to flash Retail bios to my xbox debug kit. I want to flash X2 bios if possible. Can someone give me some direction ? thanks.


By the way, I don't have a modchip. I don't want to add a modchip. I read that the flash on a debug xbox is already enabled for re-programming.

Edited by gen13, 08 October 2013 - 12:47 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users