• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 tnap

tnap

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:17 AM

Okay, I just bought a new 360 Elite today. I want to be able to burn games and play them. I modded my original Xbox waaaay back when with a modchip, so I'm not completely stupid regarding mods.

I am, however, completely stupid when it comes to modding a 360. tongue.gif I just want to be able to burn games and play them, no installing homebrew apps or running emulators or anything like that. Just the basic bread and butter burning/playing games.

I have a question beforehand though: will I still be able to play on Xbox Live? (atleast with non-burned, original games?) Or can Microsoft tell if you've changed firmware when you go online?

Besides that, I'm looking to figure out what I need to do? How do I get started doing this? I know that it requires flashing the DVD drive's firmware. Is that it? Or does it require modchipping? I'm a noob when it comes to the 360 mods. Thanks in advance for any help! biggrin.gif

Edited by tnap, 02 July 2010 - 05:20 AM.

#2 vb_encryption_vb

vb_encryption_vb

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,943 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:25 AM

Normally I'd say read the stickies but I just read them and they are by far outdated. First you need to find out what kind of DVD ROM drive you have. If the console is new, chances are pretty good it's a liteon. If so then you need to find out what version to see what tools you may need to mod the drive. Head over to JungleFlasher website and download the program along with the TUTORIAL. Read the tutorial about 100 times.....Find out if you need to order some tools or not. If you have the latest liteon...plan on lots of soldering and trace cutting/repairing.

#3 deilzfcjk

deilzfcjk

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 825 posts