Jump to content


Photo

Loud Fan, Network Failure, Games Not Loading


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 uk_dan2k

uk_dan2k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Location:united kingdom - england
  • Interests:games, movies, music, beer...Hummm.....beer.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 12 July 2010 - 08:43 PM

hi all,



ps3 boots to menu, then fans kick up and sound alot louder then normal, is this a YLOD on the way, if so any recommended fixes.



also the network fails, cant pick any wireless access points up even thou there in the same room, also wired connection doesn't work.



games dont load so i replaced the laser with a new one, and it still doesn't work, i think because of the 1st 2 problems maybe?



thanks for any help you can give



#2 postal worker

postal worker

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 484 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 July 2010 - 07:46 PM

it get struck by lighting by any chance..?

#3 uk_dan2k

uk_dan2k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Location:united kingdom - england
  • Interests:games, movies, music, beer...Hummm.....beer.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 July 2010 - 07:53 PM

QUOTE(postal worker @ Jul 13 2010, 04:46 PM) View Post
it get struck by lighting by any chance..?




lol dont think so, waiting for some flux and artic silver, gonna try putting some new thermal compound down 1st, then reflow 2nd if needed.



see if that fixes the fan noise,



#4 uk_dan2k

uk_dan2k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Location:united kingdom - england
  • Interests:games, movies, music, beer...Hummm.....beer.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 July 2010 - 07:20 PM

i've cleaned and re added some new thermal compound (a thin layer as needed).

still having the loud fan noise problem ( hair dryer sound level)



tried updating firmware via recovery menu using usb stick to 3.40 failed 8002f1f9 - stuck looping.

reformatted h.d.d. tried update to 3.30 same error and stuck looping.

reformatted h.d.d. can't restore anything.



any help would be welcome






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users