Jump to content


Photo

Boxxdr Method For Installing Transistor Jtag


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#1 syntaxerror329

syntaxerror329

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Niagara Falls
  • Interests:Mountain Biking, Downhill Skiing, Xbox Mod Chips, Xbox Repair, Wiikey, ARGON, D2pro, XBOX360,
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 21 August 2010 - 05:43 AM

Here is my newest tutorial. A video is coming soon too. VIEW THIS TUTORIAL IN HIGH RES - CLICK HERE

I wrote this tutorial to show how I install the transistor jtag wiring on HDMI versions of the Xbox 360.
The install is easy, neat and fast.

This circuit was developed by Blackaddr.
I also used the SMC patch tool by Blackaddr to move the TMS signal from ARGON_DATA (aka the ROL board point) to the AUD_CLAMP point.
For an explanation of why this is better than the old diode method you should read the PDF file included in Xbox 360 SMC I/O Config Utility.

[PARTS LIST]
2x 10K ohm ¼ watt resistors
2x 2N3904 Transistors
30AWG kynar wire
3/64’ Heat Shrink Tubing

Step 1)
I remove the solder from J2D2 points 1, 2, 4 and 7 using my “solder sucker”
You could also get them cleaned out using de-soldering braid.
If cleaning them is not for you then you can just heat them with your soldering iron and when it melts you just stick the components used in the next few steps through.
IPB Image


Step 2)
Install the 2 resistors as shown.
Allow the excess legs to stick through the board. We will use them in the next step.
IPB Image



Step 3)
Flip the motherboard over. Fold the resistor legs over so they pass by each other.
Add a quick dab of solder to join them and then trim off any extra.
IPB Image



Step 4)
Fold the other resistor legs over as shown and trim them to the length shown.
IPB Image



Step 5)
Add your first Transistor at point J2D2-1.
Take note: The flat side of the transistor faces away from the GPU heat sink.
During this step the center pin on the transistor gets soldered to the resistor in J2D2-7
IPB Image



Step 6)
Install the second transistor.
It goes in just like the other one and its center pin connects to the other resistor.
IPB Image



Step 7)
Solder a piece of kynar wire to each of the remaining legs on the transistor.
You can precut and pre strip each wire.
The wire that goes to the DB1F1 alt point should be 1 ¼ inches in length and the AUD_CLAMP wire should be 3 ¼ inches long.
Slide some shrink tube over each wire to protect against shorts and to make a very professional looking appearance.
Feed the wires through the holes near the southbridge as shown.
IPB Image



Step 8)
Connect wire to AUD_CLAMP
IPB Image



Step 9)
Connect wire to DB1F1 alternate point.
On Zephyr version boards this point may be covered in laminate.
On Falcon versions it is already tinned with solder. If you don’t like this point you can always use the real DB1F1(top) or FT1U2 (bottom)
IPB Image



All pictures taken by BoXXDr
Instructions written by BoXXDr.
Thanks to Blackaddr for his research.
Please contact support@boxxdr.com if you need someone to install this.


#2 iateshaggy

iateshaggy

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,514 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 August 2010 - 06:56 AM

is this worth rewiring my jasper?

#3 syntaxerror329

syntaxerror329

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Niagara Falls
  • Interests:Mountain Biking, Downhill Skiing, Xbox Mod Chips, Xbox Repair, Wiikey, ARGON, D2pro, XBOX360,
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 21 August 2010 - 07:24 AM

QUOTE(iateshaggy @ Aug 21 2010, 01:56 AM) View Post

is this worth rewiring my jasper?


Do you ever get failed boots? e79?

This is what Blackaddr says in the .PDF included with Xbox 360 SMC I/O Config Utility.

QUOTE

The transistor method provides a safe electrical circuit by disconnecting the SMC when it drives 3.3V, but allowing the SMC to pull the signal to 0V when driving logic zero. There will be a very small voltage drop across the transistor, so the JTAG sees a voltage as high as 0.1 V. This ensures both logic 1's and logic 0's are correctly captured.


So basically it produces a very clean signal. During bootup a "payload" is injected into the GPU thru the jtag wiring. I guess if any of the Zero's and Ones get lost the systems fails to boot.

So this is basically the ultimate fix for anyone that is having issues.

#4 iateshaggy

iateshaggy

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,514 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 August 2010 - 08:43 AM

mine boots just fine, but the pdf was a nice read. i finally found out that pad i lifted was just a test point. i still might give this a try, every now and then i do get some funny lights on my rf.

#5 syntaxerror329

syntaxerror329

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Niagara Falls
  • Interests:Mountain Biking, Downhill Skiing, Xbox Mod Chips, Xbox Repair, Wiikey, ARGON, D2pro, XBOX360,
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 23 August 2010 - 10:17 PM

As promised here is the video

BoXXDr Installing Transistor Jtag Wiring on YOUTUBE

#6 nonsub2

nonsub2

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 05:55 AM

Thanks. There is no difference for jaspers right?

#7 bearkilla

bearkilla

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 11:16 AM

many thanks, great tutorial

#8 syntaxerror329

syntaxerror329

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Niagara Falls
  • Interests:Mountain Biking, Downhill Skiing, Xbox Mod Chips, Xbox Repair, Wiikey, ARGON, D2pro, XBOX360,
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 26 August 2010 - 03:34 PM

QUOTE(nonsub2 @ Aug 26 2010, 12:55 AM) View Post

Thanks. There is no difference for jaspers right?


Jasper should be the exact same.

I know on Zephyr version motherboards the point that i call the "alternate DB1F1" point is covered in laminate so if you want to use that point on Zephyr you need a fibreglass brush to prepare it.

So try it out on your jasper and take some pictures when you are done. I would love to see how it turns out.


QUOTE(bearkilla @ Aug 26 2010, 06:16 AM) View Post

many thanks, great tutorial


Thank you, it was alot of fun to make. I spent alot of time thinking of the best way to install this with he least amount of work.


#9 turfster

turfster

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Music, Golf, and fixing electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 September 2010 - 01:13 AM

Thanks for this great tutorial. I just did a zephyr 4580. Took me only 9 hours to get it to boot freeboot. blink.gif

-installed free60(xell/xellous) for falcon/smc patched

-got my cpukey

-used falcon 5770 donor files and zephyr kv/smc_config w/ ibuild(freeboot .032)

-flashed image(updflash) bin file with xellous.


This works with zephyr's CB 4580 for anybody else having trouble.....



#10 Dark Mod

Dark Mod

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Trinidad and Tobago W.I
  • Interests:Electronic services and upgrades
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 15 September 2010 - 12:38 AM

for anyone who can't get the 2N3904 Transistors....you can use the NTE replacement transistor model no. 123AP....i couldn't get those 2N3904 Transistors and juggling through my semiconductors book, i found the replacements and it work just like the ones in the parts list

Enjoy happy.gif

#11 gomson

gomson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2010 - 10:54 AM

Total newbie question...,
I've flashed several Xenon boards before but I'm about to flash my first Falcon - HDMI...
This tutorial seem straight forward so far but i have a quick question..
How do I use the SMC patch tool to move the TMS signal from ARGON_DATA to the AUD_CLAMP point...?
Can I still use Freeboot Toolbox Maker with this...?

thanks

#12 gomson

gomson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2010 - 01:44 PM

Can I use 0.6watt resistor instead of 1/4watt...?

#13 syntaxerror329

syntaxerror329

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Niagara Falls
  • Interests:Mountain Biking, Downhill Skiing, Xbox Mod Chips, Xbox Repair, Wiikey, ARGON, D2pro, XBOX360,
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 15 September 2010 - 02:58 PM

QUOTE(gomson @ Sep 15 2010, 05:54 AM) View Post

How do I use the SMC patch tool to move the TMS signal from ARGON_DATA to the AUD_CLAMP point...?
Can I still use Freeboot Toolbox Maker with this...?


I use Freeboot Toolbox Maker to do this. Check the box "creating a custom freeBOOT"
Then when you Generate FreeBOOT it will open up a Folder where you can browse into the Data folder and find the smc.bin file. I then cut it and paste it into a folder that has a copy of blackaddr's SMC I/O. Then rename it to smcold.bin and open up the command prompt and simply issue this command
smc_io smcold.bin smc.bin
Then copy the new smc.bin back into the data folder and let FreeBOOT creator finish. Then flash your FreeBOOT and you are all done.

QUOTE(gomson @ Sep 15 2010, 08:44 AM) View Post

Can I use 0.6watt resistor instead of 1/4watt...?


It should work fine but they are a bit big. The only reason i specify 1/4 watt is to avoid everyone asking me what size to use.

#14 gomson

gomson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2010 - 03:31 PM

Thanks mate biggrin.gif:D

#15 gomson

gomson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 September 2010 - 05:11 PM

@syntaxerror329
Does the tutorial at : https://docs.google....mv5h_30dw33vpf4 still apply to this wiring....?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users