N00b Needs Help Replacing 360 Dvd Drive

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 oraxthay

oraxthay

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:In the area around Tikrit and Baghdad and east, west, south and north somewhat.
  • Interests:The way water droplets come together as they run down a windshield.
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:09 AM

So I've never done this before, but I think I'm at least close to doing it right. I've already used Firmware Toolbox 4.6 to back up the firmware from the original (Hitachi GDR-3120L-0059), but for some reason, whenever I try to make it read the new one (0079), whether I use RAW Dump or Classic Dump, it says "Cannot read from drive," even though Windows detects the drive and I can play a movie with it fine. Is it maybe because it's an 0079?

Help! I barely know what I'm doing!

#2 Buzzcut

Buzzcut

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 September 2010 - 08:39 AM

Use the latest Jungleflasher and read the guide.

As you've got a 79 you'll need to use the "Unlock CD", the download link is in the guide.

#3 Ranger72

Ranger72

MOD GOD

• Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,810 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 September 2010 - 03:02 PM

An easier rout would be to unplug the circuit board from your bad Hitachi drive and plug it into your new drive.

Should take less than a minute and no need to do any flashing.

#4 Buzzcut

Buzzcut

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:02 PM

^this..

Completely missed the fact you were using a different drive.

#5 oraxthay

oraxthay

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 8 posts
  • Location:In the area around Tikrit and Baghdad and east, west, south and north somewhat.

Posted 29 September 2010 - 09:56 PM