Jump to content


Photo

Can't Get Xbmc On Unleashx


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 HellaSpencer

HellaSpencer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 October 2010 - 03:40 AM

So I just softmodded my original XBOX a few hours ago, and have been trying to put XBMC on there since then. I put the .exe under apps through an FTP but it never shows up under the Applications menu. Only thing there is Text Editor. But I can see the XBMC .exe if I use File Explorer but I can't do anything with it. The symbol next to it is a question mark if that matters. How do I actually install XBMC? I am a n00b so the simpler the better. Thanks.

#2 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 03:50 AM

If you have a .exe file then you have the PC version of XBMC, not the Xbox version.

Get hold of the Xbox version, and unpack it on your PC.

FTP all of the extracted files and folders to E:\Apps\XBMC\ so that the XBMC default.xbe is at E:\Apps\XBMC\default.xbe.

Noob queston, so should be in the noob section.

#3 HellaSpencer

HellaSpencer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 October 2010 - 03:57 AM

That would work if I could find it. no t3ch link works and xbmc doesn't support it anymore. do you know what I need to google to find it?

#4 HellaSpencer

HellaSpencer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:07 AM

I tried renaming the file from .exe to .xbe and it almost works but it puts me back to unleashx

#5 Al1ens

Al1ens

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:NZ
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 09:08 AM

I had unleashx as my softmod dash, and only today swapped over to XBMC.
I first tried it out as an app, and when convinced it was good, removed the unleashx files, moving the xbmc files from E:/Apps to E:/Dash.
All painless and without any scarey moments.

First you need to get hold of the xbox version of xbmc. As has been stated, you don't have it.
You can rename the exe to whatever you like but it still won't ever work.
To get the right version, try xbmc4xbox.org

Edited by Al1ens, 21 October 2010 - 09:12 AM.


#6 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 11:21 AM

QUOTE(HellaSpencer @ Oct 21 2010, 04:07 AM) View Post

I tried renaming the file from .exe to .xbe and it almost works but it puts me back to unleashx

You are a fool. Apps designed for one platform do not start running on another platform simply because you change the extension of the executable.

T3CH builds don't exist any more. Google XBMC Latest Nightly Builds.

@Al1ens: The best method is to put XBMC in E:\Apps\XBMC\ then put the XBMC shortcut in your current dash location. It makes manual and automatic upgrades work much more smoothly.

Edited by Heimdall, 21 October 2010 - 11:50 AM.


#7 Al1ens

Al1ens

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:NZ
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 07:00 PM

@Heimdall - The link I found for the already built shortcut didn't work, but I have backup files from my unleash dash saved, so if I ever get the shortcut I'll swap everything around again.
As it is, XBMC is working great, so no real worries for me yet.

#8 Heimdall

Heimdall

    X-S Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,749 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 07:06 PM

Don't use the already built shortcut, use "Shortcut by Team XBMC". It's two files, an xbe and a cfg file. The cfg file is just a text file that you can edit to point to wherever you want to put XBMC.

But, as you say, it's already working as it is, so maybe it's a change you can make next time you upgrade your XBMC version.

#9 Al1ens

Al1ens

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts
  • Location:NZ
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 October 2010 - 07:09 PM

I'll have a google, ta wink.gif

#10 HellaSpencer

HellaSpencer

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 22 October 2010 - 12:25 AM

Got it working. Thanks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users